Although the APA provides clear instructions on how to cite standard publication types, some business-specific resources include unique information that doesn't directly match APA instructions. Because of that, some of the examples and instructions on this page represent the UO Libraries' interpretation of APA rules.
For citing resources in standard article databases including: ABI/INFORM, Factiva, and Business Source Premier, please consult the Journal Articles or Magazine & News Articles APA guidelines.
From Database:
Tesla Inc. (2021). Form 10-K 2020. Retrieved from Mergent Online database.
From SEC Website:
Tesla Inc. (2021). Form 10-K 2020. Retrieved from SEC EDGAR website http://www.sec.gov/edgar.shtml
From Company Website:
Tesla Inc. (2021). Form 10-K 2020. Retrieved from https://ir.tesla.com/_flysystem/s3/sec/000156459021004599/tsla-10k_20201231-gen.pdf
From Company Website:
A.P. Moeller Maersk. (2021). Annual report 2020. Retrieved from https://investor.maersk.com/static-files/97a03c29-46a2-4e84-9b7e-12d4ee451361
From Database:
A.P. Moeller Maersk. (2021). Annual report 2020. Retrieved from Mergent Online database.
RIA. (2020). 2301 Business Incentive Credits—General Business Credit (GBC)—Form 3800. Federal tax handbook. RIA Checkpoint. https://checkpoint.riag.com.
AICPA. (2020, March 1). Not-for-Profit Entities. AICPA Audit and Accounting Guide. RIA Checkpoint. https://checkpoint.riag.com.
Economist Intelligence Unit. (2019, July 23). China’s social credit system and its implications. https://gfs.eiu.com
Mergent. (2020, July 6). Computer Peripheral Equipment Manufacturing. First Research. Retrieved July 15, 2020, from https://mergent.firstresearch-learn.com
Industry Report
Gambardella, A. (2020, May). IBISWorld Industry 52391 Venture Capital & Principal Trading in the US. Retrieved July 10, 2020 from https://www.ibisworld.com
Company Benchmarking Report
IBISWorld (n.d). US Company Benchmarking Report 429335 Sunrun Inc. Retrieved February 2, 2023 from https://www.ibisworld.com
Business Environment Profile
IBISWorld (April 2022). US Business Environment Profiles Report G122 Price of eggs. Retrieved February 2, 2023 from https://www.ibisworld.com
Instructions for citing data from this database are available from the publisher at https://www.icpsr.umich.edu/web/pages/datamanagement/citations.html
Freedonia Focus Reports. (2018, April). Reactive Adhesives & Sealants: United States. MarketResearch.com. https://www.marketresearch.com
Mergent. (n.d.). UPS Supply Chain Solutions, Inc. - Family Tree. Mergent Intellect. Retrieved October 25, 2019 from https://www.mergentintellect.com
Mergent. (2019). Apple Inc. company financials: income statement [Data set]. Mergent Online. Retrieved August 1, 2020 from https://www.mergentonline.com
Cullen, R. (2020, July). Pet Supplies. Mintel. Retrieved from https://www.mintel.com
Morningstar. (n.d.). Google: Key ratios. Morningstar Investment Research. Retrieved from https://www.morningstar.com
Morningstar. (2019, February 28) Fidelity Blue Chip Growth: Rating and risk. Morningstar Investment Research. Retrieved from https://www.morningstar.com
MRI-Simmons. (2019). National Consumer Study 12 month [CONCISELY DESCRIBE VARIABLE ONE AND VARIABLE TWO]. https://mrisimmons.com
OECD provides citation information for all formats in iLibrary. Look for a link on the right that says: "Cite this publication"; "Cite this dataset; "Cite this graph"; "Cite this table", etc.
Citing statistics
Euromonitor. (2019). [Market share, beer, per capita at legal purchasing age, all countries] [Data set]. Passport. https://www.euromonitor.com/
Citing a report
Euromonitor. (2020, March 18). Retailing in Egypt [Industry report]. Passport. https://www.euromonitor.com/
Pitchbook (2020, February 17) Samsonite Investors Profile. PitchBook. Retrieved from https://www.pitchbook.com
PitchBook. (n.d.). Uber Company Profile. PitchBook. Retrieved January 11, 2019 from https://www.pitchbook.com
Sport Fitness Industry Association. (2020, February). Sport & Fitness Industry Association Sports, Fitness, And Leisure Activities Topline Participation Report. SFIA. https://www.sfia.org
Tables/Data Examples:
National Sporting Goods Association. (n.d.). Participation (ages 7+) ranking: Females (no. of part. in thous.) [Data]. SMA Sport Market Analytics. Retrieved January 29, 2020, from https://www.sportsmarketanalytics.com
SBRnet. (n.d.). Sports fan market/market size, by sport: Number of fans. [Data]. SMA Sport Market Analytics. Retrieved March 13, 2020, from www.sportsmarketanalytics.com
SRDS. (n.d.). State Analysis - Virginia & Washington. SRDS Circulation 2016. SRDS. Retrieved May 10, 2019, from https://next.srds.com
SRDS. (n.d.). The Boston Globe [Publication profile]. Newspaper Advertising Source. SRDS. Retrieved November 30, 2019, from https://next.srds.com
Claritas, Inc. (2010). Boston, MA/Manchester, NH [DMA profile]. Radio Advertising Source. SRDS. Retrieved December 14, 2019, from https://next.srds.com
Statista includes citations for all its content. Look for the double quotation mark ( " ) icon to find the citation generator.
[Identify what data set your numbers are coming from (it could be in the title of the table) as well as the geography(s) covered.]
Census Bureau. (n.d.). Eugene city, Oregon [Data set]. Data.census.gov. https://data.census.gov/cedsci/profile?q=Eugene%20city,%20Oregon&g=1600000US4123850
Census Bureau. (2018). Earnings in the past 12 months (in 2018 inflation-adjusted dollars): Eugene city, Oregon [Data set]. American Community Survey, 5-year estimates. Data.census.gov. https://data.census.gov/cedsci/table?g=0500000US41039&hidePreview
Census Bureau. (2017). All Sectors: Summary Statistics for the U.S., States, and Selected Geographies: 2017: Alaska, NAICS 211: Oil and gas extraction [Data set]. Economic Census. Data.census.gov. https://data.census.gov/cedsci/table?q=economic%20census%202017
Census Bureau. (2017). All Sectors: County Business Patterns by Legal Form of Organization and Employment Size Class for U.S., States, and Selected Geographies: 2017: Alaska [Data set]. Data.census.gov. https://data.census.gov/cedsci/table?q=county%20business%20patterns
Article:
Brownsell, A., Petio, C. (2022, May). Big Tech's share of global ad spend reaches 6%. Retrieved from WARC database.
Report:
WARC. (2022, May). What's working in direct to consumer 2022. Retrieved from WARC database.
Compustat Industrial [Annual Data]. (YEARS). Available: Standard & Poor's/Compustat [access date]. Retrieved from https://wrds-www.wharton.upenn.edu/
CRSP Stocks. (YEARS). Available: Center for Research in Security Prices. Graduate School of Business. University of Chicago [access date]. Retrieved from https://wrds-www.wharton.upenn.edu/
1501 Kincaid Street
Eugene, OR 97403
P: 541-346-3053
F: 541-346-3485
