LibrarySearch offers a streamlined interface for finding books and other media that combines the collections of UO Libraries and Summit libraries.
Guide to the Cinema of Spain by
This guide to Spanish film documents the film industry's interpretation of the isolating effects of the cultural traditionalism of the early twentieth century to the expanding international popularity of such films as Trueba's "Belle Epoque," Aranda's "Amantes," and Bigas Luna's "Jamon, Jamon," and such actors as Victoria Abril, Carmen Maura, and Antonio Banderas. This is the first volume in a new Greenwood series that discusses, historically and critically, films, directors, and actors in film industries throughout the world. Each volume will include a detailed historical introduction and will provide an in-depth treatment of the most important films and individuals involved in the industry. End-of-entry bibliographies provide sources for further reading and appendixes provide additional useful information. The Guides will be valuable to scholars, students, and film buffs. Spanish cinema is in many ways a microcosm of the tensions and conflicts that have shaped the evolution of the nation over the course of this century. Spanish film as a cultural institution is rarely divorced from the political and social currents that have shaped the larger Spanish culture torn as it was between tendencies of localism and internationalism. It languished in industrial and artistic underdevelopment for many years under Franco; it is now, however, experiencing international recognition while remaining rooted in the specificity of its own popular cultural styles."
A Guide to Latin American, Caribbean and U.S. Latino Made Film and Video by
For decades, Latin American independent and national film and video makers have been creating innovative and authentic works about their own realities. Yet most of this work is never seen in the U.S. This unique directory helps educators, media users, and researchers locate over 400 films and videos made by Latin American and Latino film/video makers that are available in the United States. It provides descriptions of these works from a U.S. user's point of view. Professors from varied disciplines, including anthropology, political science, and Spanish and Portuguese language and literature, as well as film/video curators volunteered to evaluate these works. Their reviews provide important information about how to introduce these materials to U.S. audiences, and suggestions for how to use them in diverse core curricula. The film/video titles are indexed by subject, original title and English title for easy access, and a distributor's index provides contact information for purchasing and renting works.
Latin American Films, 1932-1994 by
In 1931 Antonio Moreno completed Santa, Mexico's first true sound film. In it he established one of the foremost genres of Latin American cinema--the popular melodrama--which continues to this day. Latin American filmmakers came to the fore in the fifties and sixties and, as 1992's Como agua para chocolate (Like Water for Chocolate) showed, Latin American films continue to be a major part of the international film scene.In this work over 300 of the most significant films from Argentina, Brazil, Cuba, Mexico, Bolivia, Colombia, Ecuador, Peru and other Latin American countries are covered. Each entry includes the English title, director, year of release, running time, language, country, and a detailed plot synopsis. Notes about the production and the filmmakers are also provided for many entries.
South American Cinema by
First Published in 1996. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.
Encyclopedia of European Cinema by
Includes discussions of the work and importance of over 600 directors and 400 actors, biographical entries, historical overviews of cinema in 26 countries, assessments of film genres and movements, descriptions of studios and festivals, essays on film criticism, listings of filmographies, and complete cross-references.
1501 Kincaid Street
Eugene, OR 97403
P: 541-346-3053
F: 541-346-3485