Research Guides: Spanish and Portuguese Language &amp; Literature: Artículos Científicos / Académicos

UO LibrarySearch - Find articles, books, and more

LibrarySearch offers a streamlined interface for finding books and other media that combines the collections of UO Libraries and Summit libraries.

Searching Databases (Video Tutorial)

Watch this video from Yavapai College Library to learn how to search library databases.

Finding Articles and Books

These databases, websites, and catalogs will help you to locate published research on Spanish & Portuguese literature.

HLAS online This link opens in a new window Multidisciplinary handbook on Latin America covering both the social sciences and humanities.
Works by Latin American scholars, edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress.
HAPI This link opens in a new window Selectively indexes journals in the social sciences and humanities, focussing on Central and South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the U.S.
HathiTrust digital library This link opens in a new window HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world. Current UO students, faculty and staff should log into HathiTrust as the "University of Oregon". Additional functions, such as the ability to download the whole book are available only to users of member libraries. Using HathiTrust.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window Index to historical studies of the world (outside the U.S. and Canada) since 1450, invaluable to research historical context of texts.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window Indexes critical materials for scholarship in literature, language, linguistics and folklore. Covers essay collections, dissertations, monographs and peer reviewed/scholarly journals.
PRISMA database This link opens in a new window Provides full-text scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities for the interdisciplinary academic study of Hispanic and Latin America, and the Caribbean Basin.
RedALyC This link opens in a new window Indexes academic journals from throughout Latin America, the Caribbean, and the Iberian Peninsula.
SciELO - Scientific Electronic Library Online This link opens in a new window Academic journals in sciences, social sciences, and humanities from throughout the the Spanish and Portuguese-speaking world. SciELO integrates the work of database projects based across Latin America and the Iberian Peninsula. This resource also includes some English-language articles.

Language Resources

Databases

Linguistics and language behavior abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new window Indexes and abstracts the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences.
Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Reviews over 1,500 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations

Web resources

WordReference.com A large, multilingual online dictionary provided by HarperCollins. User forums provide insights from native speakers.
Linguee A Spanish-English resource, useful for looking up phrases

Popular Contemporary and Historical Periodical Resources

Arte Público Hispanic historical collection. Series 1 This link opens in a new window
Digital collection of historical content pertaining to U.S. Hispanic and Latino history, literature, political commentary, and culture. This collection accurately conveys the creative life of U.S. Latinos and Hispanics, shedding new light on the intellectual vigor and traditional values that have characterized them from the earliest moments of this country's history through contemporary times.
Cuban culture and cultural relations, 1959- Part 1, "Casa y cultura". This link opens in a new window
This database contains some 45,000 documents from Cubas Casa de las Amricas, covering such diverse materials as articles, newspaper clippings, cable messages, interviews, conference memorabilia, etc., from 1959 onward.
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 This link opens in a new window
Newspapers published between 1808 and 1980 that chronicle the daily life, cultural heritage and world views of Hispanic communities in the U.S.
Features Spanish-language newspapers and titles published bilingually in Spanish and English.
Gale OneFile. Informe académico This link opens in a new window
If searches in this database retrieve incorrect results, clear cache/cookies to resolve the problem.
Una colección de revistas hispánicas con textos completos. Abarca negocios, salud, tecnología, cultura, temas de actualidad y otras materias.
Created exclusively for Spanish-speaking users, this full-text electronic reference tool provides indexing, images and full text of popular Hispanic magazines -- not just translations.

LANIC: The Latin American Network Information Center
Includes links to major newspapers, magazines, and other media from across Latin America.

Latin American Newspapers, Series 1 This link opens in a new window
Collection of historical Latin American newspapers.Includes newspapers published between 1805 and 1922 in Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Guyana, Mexico, Peru, Trinidad and Venezuela.
Latin American Newspapers. Series 2 This link opens in a new window
Additional coverage of newspapers from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba and Mexico. Includes countries not represented in Latin American Newspapers I, such as Bolivia, El Salvador, Nicaragua, Costa Rica and Belize.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.

Linking UO Libraries with Google Scholar to Find Full-Text Articles

When you search Google Scholar on your personal computer, you can configure your settings so that UO Libraries resource links appear in your results. Then you can click the UO FindText to access a library item.

(TIP: If you're at a temporary computer and don't want to activate these settings, you can access Google Scholar via our Databases page (Library Home Page > Databases A-Z > G > Google Scholar).