Research Guides: SPAN 228: Herencia Latina II: Nuestras Voces en Contexto: Fuentes primarias

News and Other Primary Sources

News databases

Access world news This link opens in a new window
Access World News Research Collection is a full-text news resource consisting over 11,000+ local, regional, national and international sources (6,800+ US and almost 4,200 international sources). This database includes access to many local Oregon new sources, including The Oregonian and the Register-Guard up to current day. Updated daily, it offers researchers and students valuable primary source information on today’s issues and events from newspapers, newswires, transcripts, video clips, web only, and blogs.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Limited to four simultaneous users. Please logout when you have finished. Text or data mining is prohibited in the Factiva database.

International business and general publications including the Wall Street Journal from 1979 to the present, financial profiles for companies worldwide and historical stock prices, as well as current data and market indexes.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 This link opens in a new window
Newspapers published between 1808 and 1980 that chronicle the daily life, cultural heritage and world views of Hispanic communities in the U.S.
Features Spanish-language newspapers and titles published bilingually in Spanish and English.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Articles, editorials, and reviews published in approximately 200 ethnic and minority newspapers, magazines and journals published in the U.S, dating back to the mid-1990s.
Searchable in both English and Spanish.

Video databases

Docuseek2 (Streaming Videos) This link opens in a new window
Educational streaming access to content from Bullfrog Films, Collective Eye Films, Icarus Films (including The Fanlight Collection and dGenerate Films), Kartemquin Films, Scorpion TV,Sincerely Films, Terra Nova Films and Villon Films.
UO users may preview and license content online.
Ethnographic Video Online (Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window
Collection of classic and contemporary ethnographic documentaries.
Comprehensive resource for the study of human culture and behavior, covering every region of the world and features the work of many of the most influential documentary filmmakers of the 20th century, including interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, study guides, and more.

Online Open Web (Free) Resources

World Atlas of Language Structures Online (Max Plank Institute)
Atlas of Pidgin and Creole Language Structures Online The Atlas of Pidgin and Creole Language Structures (APiCS) provides expert-based information on 130 grammatical and lexical features of 76 pidgin and creole languages from around the world. The original 2013 version was published as a set of four books by Oxford University Press , containing the Atlas volume proper as well as three Survey volumes. The online version contains all the materials from the printed version, plus a large number of examples and feature value comments. In addition, it was specifically designed to allow comparison with data from WALS (the World Atlas of Language Structures).

About Special Collections and University Archives

Welcome to Special Collections and University Archives (SCUA)!

We are the principal repository for the University of Oregon’s historical research collections in all formats including manuscripts, printed books, maps, photographs, and prints. The archives of the University of Oregon, including historic administrative records and personal papers of many faculty members, comprise a substantial part of the collections. Overall, the department’s holdings include more than 20 thousand linear feet of manuscript collections. Located in the north wing of the Knight Library, the Department is open to scholars and researchers regardless of institutional affiliation. Each year we see thousands of researchers who come to consult our resources.

The archivists and librarians welcome the opportunity to help you with your research.

Special Collections and University Archives

PCUN Archives: UO Libraries Special Collections

This photograph is of a button held in the UO Libraries Special Collections & University Archives PCUN Records.

About the PCUN Organization

Started in Woodburn in 1985 by WVIP leaders Cipriano Ferrel, Ramón Ramírez, and Larry Kleinman, the Pineros y Campesinos Unidos del Noroeste (Northwest Tree-Planters and Farmworkers United, PCUN) has pursued a multipronged approach to serving Oregon’s Latinx community from its inception. In addition to labor organizing, PCUN has been an engine for environmental and immigration reform, labor rights, farmworker housing, and bilingual education, and has been a strong ally to anti-racist, LGBT rights, and environmental movements in addition to other progressive causes. PCUN has been instrumental in founding organizations including the Farmworker Housing Development Corporation, CAUSA (Oregon’s largest Latinx civil rights organization), the Mujeres Luchadoras Progresistas (an organization for Latina rights), the CAPACES Leadership Institute (a youth organizing and leadership training institute), and the low-power FM radio station KPCN. Today PCUN is the largest Latinx organization in the state of Oregon.

Search the PCUN Records

PCUN records, 1962-2012

SPAN 228: Herencia Latina II: Nuestras Voces en Contexto

Ask An Archivist | SCUA

Archivist, Curator of Manuscripts

Related UO Libraries Research Guides