Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
University of Oregon
UO Libraries

SPAN 228: Herencia Latina II: Nuestras Voces en Contexto

Understanding Databases (Video Tutorial)

Watch this video from Carteret Community College Library to understand the differences between databases. 

A-Z Database List

Databases A-Z logo from website

If you know which database you want, use the dropdown menu above to choose it. If you want to browse the databases by subject, click on the link on the left and use the filters to explore our subscription databases! 

Look at other Subject guides to see which databases the Subject Librarians recommend for that discipline/major.

Recommended Databases for the Course

General Multidisciplinary Database - Great Places to Start!

Databases containing Linguistics Research

Language Databases

Searching Databases (Video Tutorial)

Watch this video from Yavapai College Library to learn how to search library databases.

Finding the Full Text of an Article in a Database

Follow the steps shown in these screenshots to locate or request the full text of an article from a database like Academic Search Premier (EBSCO).

You can use the limiter on the left sidebar to narrow to results that only include access to the full text, or just look for the results that include a PDF or HTML option.

A screen shot of a search in Academic Search Premier for "Pacific Northwest" AND conservative*

This screen shot shows various options for getting the full text of this article through the UO Libraries' subscription to Academic Search Premier.

No PDF link?

If your article doesn't have a PDF or HTML full text, click the FindText button FindText button to get to this screen: 

Screenshot of the Get It link when full text is available in a database

When the full text is not available as a PDF (or HTML format) in a database, you still have options to get it at no cost to you (up to the limit of $30 for students/staff and $60 for faculty per document. See About Borrowing for more). Click the Find Text button below the search result you want, and then look for the Check availability link.

Screenshot of Check Availability link in database with options for Interlibrary Loan or Document Delivery.

Choose Interlibrary Loan for physical items (books, DVDs) to get them in 1-3 weeks from another library outside of Summit or for electronic items (PDFs of journal or magazine articles) to get them in 24-48 hours at no cost to you. Document Delivery is for requesting an electronic copy of an article or book chapter that the University of Oregon Libraries has in physical format.

Questions? Contact the Resource Sharing office at 541-346-3055 or ill@uoregon.edu.

Linking UO Libraries with Google Scholar to Find Full-Text Articles

When you search Google Scholar on your personal computer, you can configure your settings so that UO Libraries resource links appear in your results. Then you can click the UO FindText to access a library item.

(TIP: If you're at a temporary computer and don't want to activate these settings, you can access Google Scholar via our Databases page (Library Home Page > Databases A-Z > G > Google Scholar). 

To configure your Google Scholar Library Links, click on Settings. in the upper right of the search page.

Screen shot of Google Scholars with Settings in menu indicated

Then select Library Links and search for "University of Oregon." Check the box in the search select and click "Save."

Screen shot showing Library Links in Google Scholars Settings with University of Oregon libraries indicated

University of Oregon Libraries
1501 Kincaid Street Eugene, OR
97403-1299
T: (541) 346-3053
F: (541) 346-3485
Make a Gift