Our collections exist to be used. When students work directly with primary source materials, historic photographs, and documents that are old or unique, they discover an excitement and passion not generated by textbooks.
Primary source documents can inspire, but they also teach about learning to verify sources, tracking down connections, finding evidence from content and from physical clues.
Baillie, Hugh. Ax 631
Hugh Baillie (1890-1966) worked at United Press first as a reporter, then general news manager, and then became president during 1935-1955 , and was also a published author. The collection contains manuscripts, including versions of his autobiographical work, High Tensions, correspondence, memoranda, news stories, publicity, published work and periodicals.
Fisher, Leonard. Ax 538
Leonard Fisher (1924- ) was an author, painter, designer, and illustrator of children's books. He was particularly well known for his development of the scratchboard technique. The collection consists of original illustrations, literary manuscripts, correspondence, production materials, photographs, and audiotapes.
Fuecker, Fred M. Ax 514
Fred Michael Fuecker (1895-1975) served in the military from 1911-1955, including WWI and WWII. The collection consists of a World War I diary, administrative papers of the provost marshal of Los Angeles and Arizona, and of Service Command Unit 4910, Los Angeles (1942-1944), and seven photograph albums, (1911-1924), scrapbooks and mementos.
Gard, Jesse. Ax 339
Jesse Jewell Gard (1902-1967) was educated in banking at Rutgers University, worked for various banks in Oregon and was an active member of the Republican Party, serving on the Republican National Committee for many years. The collection contains political files, business and professional records, civic files, personal correspondence, and memorabilia.
Landreth, Earl. Ax 480
Earl Landreth (1893-1966) served as an officer in the Philippine Scouts in 1915, and in the U.S. Army, 1917, and rose to the rank of Colonel. The collection consists of correspondence from Landreth to his family during WWII, lectures delivered at Ft. Leavenworth, biographical material, and a publication by Landreth titled Washington Diaries, 1933-1935.
Paules, Earl G. Ax 540
Earl Grady Paules (1891 - ) graduated from the U. S. Military Academy, and as a colonel of the 18th Engineers he was in command of Alaska highway construction in the Whitehorse, Yukon Territory - White River sector, and then of the Northwest sector. The collection contains a diary, correspondence, a history of the construction of the Whitehorse sector prepared by the Operations Section, 18th Engineers (1943), publications, and reel-to-reel film and photographs of Alaskan highway construction.
Pettengill, Samuel. Coll. 015
Samuel B. Pettengill was a U.S. Congressman from Indiana and worked on interstate commerce affairs. The collection is divided into biographical material, correspondence, manuscripts, speeches, subject files, articles, newspaper clippings, and miscellaneous.
Pierce, Walter M. Coll. 68
Collection consists of correspondence, speeches, reports, photographs and material covering U.S. and Northwest history and politics. A major portion details Pierce's involvement with New Deal programs. The papers deal with agriculture, irrigation and land reclamation, public ownership, forest management, and the development of hydroelectric power. There are substantial files on the Civilian Conservation Corps, Public Works Administration and Works Progress Administration, files on significant government issues and minority groups. The subject files contain pamphlets and material on pertinent topics, speech files, bills introduced by Pierce, a newspaper clippings file, personal and estate papers, and drafts of Pierce's memoirs.
Pommerenke, Herbert H. Ax 722
Herbert H. Pommerenke and his wife Jean were missionaries in China for over twenty years. The collection contains correspondence to and from China regarding the life and customs of Chinese people and the activities and problems of the missionaries, and also newsletters, 1923-1946.
Putnam, Lemuel P. Ax 586
Lemuel Pratt Putnam (1884-1968) had a long career of service with the YMCA and the Presbyterian Church, as a social worker and pastor. The collection (1911-1963) contains correspondence, religious writings, subject files on religious organizations, and biographical information.
Scovel, Frederick. Ax 707
Dr. Frederick Gilman Scovel (born 1902) and his wife Myra Scovel (August 11, 1905- August 26, 1994) were missionaries overseas for the United Presbyterian Church for almost thirty years. The works in this collection are a collection of correspondence, diaries, manuscripts and other miscellaneous items that represent the Scovels’ missionary work and their time spent overseas.
Tuck, Ernest E. Ax 608
Dr. Ernest Everett Tuck (1888-1966) was a Methodist missionary to the Philippine Islands. The collection includes correspondence, sermons, records of Philippine missions, biographical materials, and ledgers.
[Identification of item], Date (if known), Collection Title, Collection Number, Box and Folder number [or photo ID number], Special Collections & University Archives, University of Oregon Libraries, Eugene, Oregon.
Special Collections and University Archives is the primary repository for the University of Oregon’s archives, rare books, historic photographs, and one of the largest historical manuscripts collections in the Pacific Northwest. Our mission is to acquire, preserve, and make available a clearly defined set of primary sources and rare books, reflecting the written, visual, and audio history and culture of Oregon, the Pacific Northwest, and selected aspects of American and world history. Our diverse collections support all types of research, from K–12 education to international scholarship. We strive to play an active and creative role in the teaching, research, and service missions of the University.
Historical Collection Strengths
1501 Kincaid Street
Eugene, OR 97403
P: 541-346-3053
F: 541-346-3485
