Our collections exist to be used. When students work directly with primary source materials, historic photographs, and documents that are old or unique, they discover an excitement and passion not generated by textbooks.
Primary source documents can inspire, but they also teach about learning to verify sources, tracking down connections, finding evidence from content and from physical clues.
Goldbloom, Maurice J., 1911-1977.
Papers, 1933-1971.
13 boxes; 7.5 lin. ft.
Goldbloom was an active member of the U.S. Socialist Party. During the pre-WWII years, he made several trips to Nazi Germany, at times acting as a courier on behalf of exiled German socialists. This led him to join the American Association for a Democratic Germany (AADG), a New York-based support group for the anti-Nazi movement composed of German expatriates and their American allies. Goldbloom left the AADG in 1949, and served in Athens, Greece as Assistant Labor Information Specialist until the late 1950s. Goldbloom also served as a freelance writer and editor for several magazines, including The Socialist Call (1942-1955), and Common Sense (1944-1945).
The papers consist mainly of material relating to organizations in which Goldbloom was involved, including New Beginning, American Friends of German Freedom, Council for a Democratic Germany, and the AADG. These sections contain correspondence, speeches, publications, and other materials.
NOTE: Some of the material is in German.
Coll. 139
Stimely, Keith, 1957-1992.
Papers, 1969-1986.
55 boxes; 27.5 lin. ft.
Stimely received a Bachelor's degree in History from the University of Oregon in 1980. From 1981-1984 he worked as an editor and writer, including serving as editor of the Journal of Historical Review for two years. He specialized in problems of revisionist historiography relating to WWI and WWII. Most of the material in the Stimely Collection is secondary, but it serves as a convenient introduction to the issues in revisionist historiography.
The papers include a section on Institutional Files, with material on the Institute for Historical Review (correspondence, etc). Another section contains subject files on persons such as Robert Faurisson and David L. Hoggan. A third section contains subject files on historical issues such as Holocaust Revisionism. The collection also contains research files on various organizations and publications.
NOTE: Some of the material in this collection is sealed. Please see the inventory for more information.
Coll. 183
Tolischus, Otto D., 1890-
Papers, 1924-1965.
1 box; 1.5 lin. ft.
Tolischus was born in Lithuania, and renounced his German citizenship in 1907 to come to the U.S. He graduated from the Columbia School of Journalism in 1916, and later worked as a foreign correspondent for the Universal Service in Berlin, then London. In 1931 he went back to Berlin as a New York Times Correspondent. After being expelled from Germany by Hitler in 1940, Tolischus continued to cover the German scene from Scandinavia. He was awarded the Pulitzer Prize for best foreign correspondence in 1940 for his coverage of Nazi Germany. He went to Tokyo in 1941, and was arrested and sentenced to 18 months of hard labor for "doing harm to Japan.\" He was exchanged in 1942, returned to the U.S., and remained with the New York Times as a member of the editorial board and an editorial writer until 1964.
The papers include correspondence and copies of the articles Tolischus wrote for the New York Times, 1936-1966. Most of the articles deal with the rise of Hitler, Germany, and Japan in WWII, and the growth of Communism.
Ax 368
U.S. Military Tribunal no. IV.
Records of case no. 11 U.S. Military Tribunal no. IV, United States of America against Ernst von Werszaecher, et al., defendants. Nurnburg, Germany, Dec. 20, 1947 - Apr. 11, 1949.
808 v.
Case tried under provision of the Allied Control Council Law no. 10, Dec. 20, 1945. Twenty-one defendants involved, all officials of the German government in Berlin.
NOTE: Contents listed on the catalog cards.
Bx 83
[Identification of item], Date (if known), Collection Title, Collection Number, Box and Folder number [or photo ID number], Special Collections & University Archives, University of Oregon Libraries, Eugene, Oregon.
Special Collections and University Archives is the primary repository for the University of Oregon’s archives, rare books, historic photographs, and one of the largest historical manuscripts collections in the Pacific Northwest. Our mission is to acquire, preserve, and make available a clearly defined set of primary sources and rare books, reflecting the written, visual, and audio history and culture of Oregon, the Pacific Northwest, and selected aspects of American and world history. Our diverse collections support all types of research, from K–12 education to international scholarship. We strive to play an active and creative role in the teaching, research, and service missions of the University.
Historical Collection Strengths
1501 Kincaid Street
Eugene, OR 97403
P: 541-346-3053
F: 541-346-3485