It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
WorldCat provides access to library catalogs from around the world. The database contains millions of bibliographic records describing books, journals, maps, musical scores, recordings, videos, manuscripts, etc.
Useful for locating information within books because of its full-text searching ability but it is limited in content (not all books are in Google Books!). The books can then be obtained in the library.
The dynamics of change in the uses and occupancy characteristics of cities has caught urban managers off guard. The abandonment of central city realty in many locations is a fact which cannot be overlooked. Yet within this reality, there are the seeds of hope, not of return to things past, but to a series of new constructive efforts. Bridging the gap between the city and/or neighborhood of yesterday and the potentials of tomorrow requires a firm grasp of all the many required tools - in terms of legal, physical and strategic planning. It is to these necessities that this handbook is dedicated.The Adaptive Reuse Handbook is a basic urban revitalization manual for city managers, zoning administrators, urban planners, architects, lay planning/zoning board members, and interested citizens. The handbook consists of procedures to gain control of, and positively reemploy, abandoned urban real estate. This is the non-architectural side of surplus property conversion - the legal and administrative procedures necessary to garner structures and land and prepare them for reuse.This book is divided into four sections: planning/inventory; property control; property management and disposition; and physical revitalization. Each section presents procedures and field experience to deal with a particular urban revitalization activity: property inventory, abandonment early warning systems, reuse planning, interim/permanent property control, tax sale/foreclosure, property management, property disposition, and physical revitalization. This is a must have reference work for anyone in the field of urban studies.
The Affordable Housing Reader brings together classic works and contemporary writing on the themes and debates that have animated the field of affordable housing policy as well as the challenges in achieving the goals of policy on the ground.
2018 IPHS Special Book Prize Award Recipient The Routledge Handbook of Planning History offers a comprehensive interdisciplinary overview of planning history since its emergence in the late 19th century, investigating the history of the discipline, its core writings, key people, institutions, vehicles, education, and practice. Combining theoretical, methodological, historical, comparative, and global approaches to planning history, The Routledge Handbook of Planning History explores the state of the discipline, its achievements and shortcomings, and its future challenges. A foundation for the discipline and a springboard for scholarly research, The Routledge Handbook of Planning History explores planning history on an international scale in thirty-eight chapters, providing readers with unique opportunities for comparison. The diverse contributions open up new perspectives on the many ways in which contemporary events, changing research needs, and cutting-edge methodologies shape the writing of planning history.
This book addresses sustainability thinking and the bigger picture, by taking into consideration how and from where contemporary schools of thought emerged approximately a quarter-century ago. Evidence from the literature illustrates a number of key concepts and techniques that have been tested and continue to be tested, within various multi-disciplinary fields, on societal functionality.