Research Guides: Pacific Islander Studies: Articles (scholarly / peer-reviewed)

Social Sciences Articles

Social Science Premium Collection
Provides access to databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education.
Hawai'i Pacific Journal Index
Indexes articles in magazines and journals published in or about the Pacific and Hawai'i.
Select Hawai'i Pacific Journal Index in the Databases & Indexes box.
JSTOR
Online archive of peer reviewed/scholarly journals in all disciplines.
Linguistics and language behavior abstracts (LLBA)
Indexes and abstracts the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences.
Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Reviews over 1,500 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations

Literature & Film Articles

MLA International Bibliography
Indexes critical materials for scholarship in literature, language, linguistics and folklore. Covers essay collections, dissertations, monographs and peer reviewed/scholarly journals.
Film & Television Literature Index
Indexes journal and magazine titles for film and television reviews, scholarly and critical analysis of cinema and television, and articles of popular interest about film and television.
Subject coverage includes film and television theory, preservation and restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.

Google Scholar

Looking for a specific article by title? Want to see who cited the articles you're using to find more, related articles? Want to find a formatted citation for a book or an article for your bibliography? Google Scholar is there for you! (Works best on-campus)

Checking Your Sources

Is your book or article from an Academic / Peer-reviewed source?

Ulrichsweb: global serials directory
Directory to journals, magazines, and more. Check here to see if your articles are published in peer-reviewed publications.

The American Association of University Presses
The American Association of University Presses website lists all of the University Presses within the United States and Canada who are members. Check here to find the names of Book Publishers who publish academic / scholarly books. (Note: this only lists publishers at universities. There are additional academic publishers not listed here, but it is a good place to start checking.)

Librarian

Miriam Rigby

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

rigby@uoregon.edu

541-346-7202

Subjects: Anthropology, Archaeology, Dissertations, Ethnic Studies, Food Studies, Museum Studies, Open Access, Sociology