Research Guides: Pacific Islander Studies: Archival Materials (at UO and Online)

Archival / Primary Source Databases

Anthropological fieldwork online
Anthropological Fieldwork Online brings the fieldwork underpinning the great ethnographies of the early 20th century into the digital world. This fully indexed, primary source database unfolds the historical development of anthropology from a global perspective, bringing together the work of early scholars who shaped the theories and methods students learn about, critique and re-shape today. Features the papers of Margaret Mead, Victor Turner, Bronislaw Malinowski, and Ruth Benedict.
Empire Online
Spanning five centuries, and charting the rise and fall of empires around the world, Empire Online enables students and researchers to explore colonial history, politics, culture and society. With primary source material from American, French, Dutch, Spanish, Portuguese, German and British perspectives, Empire Online provides varying points-of-view for comparative research. Documents from Africa, India and North America are also featured.
Food and drink in history
Explore a wide range of primary source material including printed and manuscript cookbooks, advertising ephemera, government reports, films and illustrated content – revealing the evolution of food and drink within everyday life and the public sphere. The unique material in this collection has been sourced from across the globe to reflect a wide range of food cultures and traditions, creating an unparalleled research resource.
UO has access to Module 1.
Global Plants
Provides more than two million images of plant type specimens from herbaria around the world.

Public Digital Archives

New Featured Collections in UO Special Collections and University Archives (SCUA)

Zig Jackson photographs
The Zig Jackson photograph collection consists of photographic prints taken during 1990-2009. Jackson’s work includes portraiture and documentary photography depicting traditional indigenous culture. Images feature snapshots of contemporary Native American communities and events, and offer commentary on Indian identity, land rights, sovereignty, representation, and tribal traditions. Prints show Native American ceremonies, Indian reservations, sacred sites, lodges, monuments, tourism, souvenir booths, food stands, road signs, government buildings, and urban areas. (Print Collection - view in SCUA)