Encyclopedia of Laser Physics and Technology by Rüdiger PaschottaThis authoritative two-volume encyclopedia (A-M, N-Z) helps to master the large variety of physical phenomena and technological aspects involved in laser technology and the wider field of photonics. Besides explaining in detail the physical principles and common techniques of laser operation, it also addresses such supplementary topics as ultrashort pulses, optical communications, optoelectronics, general optics, and quantum optics. References to selected scientific articles and textbooks aid readers in their further studies, and the cross-disciplinary approach makes this four-color encyclopedia of huge benefit to a wide audience in industry, government, and academic research.
Call Number: Science Library TA1509 .P33 2008
Publication Date: 2008-12-03
The Encyclopedia of Materials by K. H. J. Buschow (Editor-In-Chief); Robert Cahn (Editor-In-Chief); Merton C. Flemings (Editor-In-Chief); Bernhard Ilschner (Editor-In-Chief); Subhash Mahajan (Editor-In-Chief); Patrick Veyssiere (Editor-In-Chief); Edward J. Kramer (Editor-In-Chief)The study of materials is interdisciplinary in nature and requires knowledge of research in many related fields, such as physics, chemistry, engineering and even biomedical science. Scientists and engineers working with materials increasingly need a medium for gathering relevant information from the growing amount of literature available. The Encyclopedia of Materials: Science and Technology presents around 1,800 articles written by experts in their fields, resulting in a comprehensive coverage of this broad and wide-ranging subject. It is the only encyclopedia available that covers all of materials science and technology, focussing on the following areas: * Functional Phenomena * Structural Phenomena * Fundamental Core Theory * Structural Materials * Polymers and Materials Chemistry * Functional Materials This title is also available online via ScienceDirect - featuring extensive browsing, searching, and internal cross-referencing between articles in the work, plus dynamic linking to journal articles and abstract databases, making navigation flexible and easy. Please contact your librarian for more information about access to these products within your institution.
Call Number: Science Library TA402 .E53 2001
Publication Date: 2001-09-19
Handbook of Optics by Michael Bass; Casimer Decusatis; Jay M. Enoch; Carolyn MacDonald; Casimer DeCusatis; Vasudevan Lakshminarayanan; Guifang Li; Virendra Mahajan; Eric Van StrylandThe most comprehensive and up-to-date optics resource available Prepared under the auspices of the Optical Society of America, the five carefully architected and cross-referenced volumes of the Handbook of Optics, Third Edition, contain everything a student, scientist, or engineer requires to actively work in the field. From the design of complex optical systems to world-class research and development methods, this definitive publication provides unparalleled access to the fundamentals of the discipline and its greatest minds. Individual chapters are written by the world's most renowned experts who explain, illustrate, and solve the entire field of optics. Each volume contains a complete chapter listing for the entire Handbook, extensive chapter glossaries, and a wealth of references. This pioneering work offers unprecedented coverage of optics data, techniques, and applications. Volume I covers geometrical and physical optics, polarized light, components, and instruments.
Springer Handbook of Atomic, Molecular, and Optical Physics by Gordon W. F. Drake (Editor)This Springer Handbook of Atomic, Molecular, and Optical Physics comprises a comprehensive reference source that unifies the entire fields of atomic, molecular, and optical (AMO) physics, assembling the principal ideas, techniques and results of the field from atomic spectroscopy to applications in comets. Its 92 chapters are written by over 100 authors, all leaders in their respective disciplines. Carefully edited to ensure uniform coverage and style, with extensive cross references, and acting as a guide to the primary research literature, it is both a source of information and an inspiration for graduate students and other researchers new to the field. Relevant diagrams, graphs, and tables of data are provided throughout the text. Substantially updated and expanded since the 1996 edition and published in conjunction with the 2005 World Year of Physics (commemorating Einstein s 1905 "miracle year"), it contains several entirely new chapters covering current areas of great research interest, such as Bose Einstein condensation, quantum information, and cosmological variations of the fundamental constants. A fully searchable CD-ROM version of the contents accompanies the handbook. "