Misinformation, Bias and Fact Checking: Mastering Media Literacy

Goal: To empower individuals, particularly students, with the skills to critically evaluate news and media and navigate misinformation and disinformation.
Approach: Offers educational resources and programs that teach media literacy, critical thinking, and fact-checking skills. Includes the tool Checkology, which helps students learn to identify credible news sources and spot false information.

Goal: To provide free media literacy and First Amendment education.
Approach: Provides free resources including videos, lesson plans, and interactive experiences centered around media literacy.

Goal: To help organizations, educators, advisors, parents and students interpret the news more critically.
Approach: Provides resources including its news literacy curriculum, guides specifically for student journalists, and original research into the ways that young people consume news.

Goal: To help citizens, especially the young, develop critical thinking and media production skills needed to live fully in the 21st century media culture.
Approach: Provides evidence-based media literacy curricula, lists of best practices and cases for understanding media in the modern age, and various other resources.

Goal: To empower diverse communities with the skills to identify misinformation through engaging, innovative media literacy education.
Approach: Utilizes a blend of online courses, workshops, and real-time fact-checking techniques, and programs like its Teen Fact-Checking Network.

Goal: To make media literacy highly valued and widely practiced as an essential life skill.
Approach: Provides professional development opportunities, resources, and training for educators to teach students how to critically analyze media messages, understand their impact, and create responsible media content. They also organize conferences, develop guidelines, and support research to enhance media literacy education at all levels.

Goal: To support writers and journalists and promote the values of literary and human rights.
Approach: Provides a useful Helping Journalists Fight Disinformation Guide, and resources on campus free speech, book bans and combating online harassment.

Goal: To offer free, self-paced courses on media literacy that teachers can use to create engaging experiences in the classroom.
Approach: Provides a collection of professional development courses that empower educators to teach media literacy, make media for the classroom and lead media-making projects.

Goal: To enhance young people’s critical thinking and empathy, and build on their capacities to advocate for change around questions of identity.
Approach: Provides free media literacy resources for educators and students, including clips from movies and television shows, advertisements from billboards and magazines, newspaper articles, online viral videos, comedic satire and more.

Goal: To study and combat online deception and build society's resilience to the dangers it poses.
Approach: Highlighted resources include its Spot the Troll Quiz and a curated list of social media engagement and tracking tools.

Goal: To equip schools, districts and teachers with the tools they need to shape the future by nurturing empathy, curiosity, and civic responsibility in young people.
Approach: Provides detailed lesson plans and resources that focus on strengthening students’ media literacy skills and capacity to engage with the world around them.

Goal: To offer free educational resources for PreK–12 educators and students.
Approach: Provides original classroom content, including video segments from award-winning PBS documentaries and series and original interactive resources custom-built for classroom use.

Goal: To help educators teach students the methods that fact checkers use to evaluate the trustworthiness of online sources.
Approach: Provides free materials that cover topics such as the use of Wikipedia, evaluating claims on social media, determining website reliability, and identifying trustworthy evidence.