Why is this course research guide relevant to me?
Throughout the Humanities Research Data Management course students are required to make inquiries about a chosen research digital collection topic. The aim of this research guide is to support you throughout this journey.
What can I find on this research guide?
This research guide has helpful how-tos and resources that can aid you throughout the development of your research digital collection project. Here's what you will find and why it matters for your term-based project.
- Develop a Research Topic - For those who need extra support while creating a digital collection topic, this page contains a brief overview and step by step approach that guides you in selecting one.
- Your Research Tools - Information lives everywhere, but what research tools exist to help you find and access what you seek? This page has lists of databases, websites, archives, and the UO library catalog with explanations for what you can find inside of them. You will also discovery helping citation management and spreadsheet applications to use.
- Working with Primary Sources - What's a primary source? How do I find them? What approaches should I use for analyzing them? Here is where you'll find answers to these questions.
- Example Thematic Research Digital Collections - Experience examples of what thematic research digital collections are like when made publicly available through university and colleges. This page contains many references for understanding what form this digital project genre takes.
COMING SOON!
- Ownership & Use of Creative Works - How do you know if someone owns a video, image, document, sound recording, or tabulated dataset? Are you able to use a creative work for free? Should you cite or give attribution? This page is all about the copyright (ownership) and licensing (use) of creative works.
- Project Management Help - Keeping yourself and your team organized can be a challenge. This page has helpful tips and tricks to keep you on track while building your research digital collection
- Making Data Management Plans - Get accustomed to the foundations of keeping your primary sources not just organized, but described, well-documented, and stored properly for future access.
- Understanding Digital Collection Platforms - Why are certain web publishing tools better than others for making research digital collections online? Learn about the pros and cons different platforms typically used by artists, historians, archeologists, and others who collect videos, images, sound recordings, tabulated datasets, and documents.
Who can I ask for research help?
Everyone runs into research roadblocks. If you need help then the UO Libraries has professional research librarians who are able to assist you. All of the UO librarians have designated subject and area specializations. So, if you have a specific disciplinary requirement, say Anthropology or History, then there is a librarian who can help you find answers to your questions. Visit the UO Libraries Subject & Area Librarian Directory to find a librarian. You are also welcome to visit your teacher's office hours for assistance.
