These are some thematic digital collections you can browse, including relevant details about each collection.
The Activism, Organizing, and Leadership within U-M Asian American + Pacific Islander Communities and Space stems from a collaboration between the United Asian American Organizations (UAAO) and the Asian/Pacific Islander American Studies Program at the University of Michigan Ann Arbor. Student activists came up with the idea for the collection and were deeply involved in its creation, which is ongoing. It gathers materials from the 1970s onward to document the history of Asian American and Pacific Islander students on the university's campus, through, for example student associations, with the aim of documenting a local history of activism. The project does not provide a date of creation. It is hosted by JSTOR Forum.
The Adler Archive of Underground Comix is out together from the special collections at the Rhode Island School of Design. It contains interviews, comics strips, press releases, ads, and various objects more related to underground comix from the 1960s to 2000s ("underground comix" is an established term for a specific kind of comic, often self-published and self-circulated by underground artists). The aim is to make underground publications widely available. The project does not provide a date of creation. It is hosted by JSTOR Forum.
The Appalachian Dulcimer Archive was created by the Anne Potter Wilson Music Library at Vanderbilt University. It was originally conceived by David Schnaufer. The collection gathers materials around the historical musical instrument the dulcimer. Besides recordings, it contains phoptos documenting how dulcimers have been presented. The archive was created 2012. it is hosted by Omeka.
The Arden Phair Cartoon Collection was compiled by Arden Phair, the former director of St. Catherine's City Museum, Ontario, Canada. Prof. Jaleen Grove, Yimiao Wang and Minglu Du (Rhode Island School of Design) add the digitized files to JSTOR. The collection contains newspaper cartoons from Southwestern Ontario cartoonists to document their commentary on events, starting in the early 20th century. The project does not provide a date of creation. It is hosted by JSTOR Forum.
The Hermoupolis Digital Heritage Management (HERMES) is a "Digital Heritage Collection of Historic Buildings" born out of research conducted by Pavlos Chatzigrigoriou, PhD, at the National Technical University of Atherns and Municipality of Hermoupolis. The main aim of the collection is to highlight the fragility of historic Greek buildings and to offer a model that could be used to determine the priority of maintenance for such buildings. It is open for outside contributions. HERMES does not provide a date of creation. It is hosted by Omeka.
The Modernist Journals Project (MJP) has existed physically since 1995, and initiated its first digital edition 1996. It was conceived by Robert Scholes, who directed it until 2012. Other listed staff are Sean Latham, Susan Smulyan, Jeffrey Drouin, Clifford Wulfman, and Mark Gaipa. The project is based on a collaboration by Brown University, The University of Tulsa, and the National Endowment for the Humanities. The collection digitizes literary magazines in English from 1890s-1920s. It offers specific subsections for teaching and research.
The Humboldt Redwoods Project stems from a collaboration between Humboldt State University (HSU) Library Special Collections and the HSU Museum & Gallery Practices Certification Program. Its self-declared goal is to celebrate the relationship between the Humboldt community and redwood trees. It does so by showcasing the relationship between redwoods and tourism, activism, logging and art. They do not provide a date of creation. It is hosted by Omeka.
The Lomax Kentucky Recordings stem from a collaboration between The Association for Cultural Equity, Berea College, The Library of Congress, and The University of Kentucky. It contains recordings from the collection of the Lomax family. John A. Lomax (Harlan County, Kentucky) recorded American folk performers in Kentucky. His goal was to ensure "America could her itself" and allow American folk music to be available to the people, not locked away in archiving institutions. The editorial committee, Todd Harvey (American Folklife Center), Harry Rice (Berea College Special Collections & Archives), and Nathan Salsburg seek to fulfill this vision. They do not provide a date of creation. It is hosted by Omeka.
The Victorian Women Writers Project is edited by Perry Willett from the Main Library at Indiana University, with support from Indiana University's Library Electronic Text Resource Service (LETRS). It collects texts written by female writers in Great Britain during the late Victorian period. These works can be poetry or drama, though there are ambitions to expand this list. The project does not provide a date of creation. It is published on the platform of Indiana University's Library.
The Votes and Petticoats: Postcards collection is a digital collection by the Johns Hopkins Digital Collections. It contains postcards related to the movement for women's suffrage in the early 20th century, both for commercial use and made by pro-suffrage organizations. Its aim is to document not just a sliver of suffrage movement history but also to examine the use of postcards, which had emerged in the late 19th century. The project does not provide a date of creation. It is hosted by JSTOR Forum.
1501 Kincaid Street
Eugene, OR 97403
P: 541-346-3053
F: 541-346-3485