Letter |
Subject Area |
|---|---|
| A | General Works |
| B | Philosophy, Psychology, Religion |
| C | Auxiliary Sciences of History |
| D | World History |
| E | History of the Americas |
| F | History of the Americas |
| G | Geography, Anthropology, Recreation |
| H | Social Sciences |
| J | Political Science |
| K | Law |
| L | Education |
| M | Music |
| N | Fine Arts |
| P | Language and Literature |
| Q | Science |
| R | Medicine |
| S | Agriculture |
| T | Technology |
| U | Military Science |
| V | Naval Science |
| Z | Bibliography, Library Science, Information Resources |
To drill down into the LC Classification Outline, use the link below:
Library of Congress (LC) Call Numbers are like an item's address to help you find where it lives on the shelf. Each letter stands for an academic discipline. In the image below, L is for Education, LD is for Individual Institutions - United States. Can you guess which institution is at LD 4363 .U55 2006?
To read a call number, read the number from left to right or top to bottom as follows:
Lastly, the shelf is organized from top to bottom in sections, so you'll zig-zag down each section 
to look for your call number before moving to the next section.
Bonus: You can also click the "Locate" option in LibrarySearch to see a floor map with the number of the shelf your item is on.
Latin America and the United States: A Document History by
Latin America and the United States: A Documentary History brings together the most important documents on the history of the relationship between the United States and Latin America from the nineteenth century to the present. In addition to the standard diplomatic sources, the book includesdocuments touching on the transnational concerns that are increasingly taught in the classroom, including economic relations, environmental matters, immigration, human rights, and culture. The collection illuminates key issues while representing a variety of interests and views as they have bothpersisted and shifted over time, including often-overlooked Latin American perspectives and U.S. public opinion. A special feature of this book is the extensive introductions highlighting the historical context and significance of each of the 124 documents. This is an extraordinarily gooddocumentary reader. It enriches the study of US relations with Latin America by including the otherwise silenced voices of Latin Americans, whose frequently conflicting agendas routinely have produced negotiations that limited US objectives in significant ways, without really threatening itshemispheric hegemony.
Neighborly Adversaries: Readings in U.S.-Latin American Relations by
The history of U.S.-Latin American relations has been characterized by a complex fusion of tensions, collaboration, misperceptions, and intervention. Offering a balanced and interdisciplinary interpretation, this comprehensive reader traces the often-troubled relationship from the beginnings of the nineteenth century to the presidency of Barack Obama. Completely revised and updated, this third edition includes original essays on critically important issues such as immigration, the environment, and the Obama administration's policy toward the region. In addition to this added policy section, another new section explores cultural issues such as tourism, soccer, and the media. The readings are framed by the editors' opening chapter on the history of the relationship, introductory essays for each of the seven parts, and abstracts for each selection. Students who use this book will learn that U.S.-Latin American relations have been deeply influenced by dynamic, continuously evolving scholarly interpretations in both hemispheres. Sixteen years after the first edition was published, the editors are more optimistic as the hemisphere unites around trade, culture, tourism and an evolving mutual appreciation. Methodologically interdisciplinary, yet comparative and historical in organization and structure, this text will benefit all readers interested in the rich historical, social, and political "American" relationship.
Find other recommended books using a bibliography:
LibrarySearch offers a streamlined interface for finding books and other media that combines the collections of UO Libraries and Summit libraries.
Books, videos, and other materials in library catalogs are assigned official subject headings by the Library of Congress (LCSH) by cataloging librarians. These subject headings describe an item's content and what it is about, and are useful for focusing research on broader, narrower, or related topics. Look for subject heading links in the library catalog to find more items on the same topic. Some subject headings are dated or even problematic, and they can be changed through a petition process.
For example, the book Dance and the Hollywood Latina: Race, Sex, and Stardom has LC subject headings to describe it like "Hispanic Americans in motion pictures" and "Race in motion pictures," but (as of 2022), "Latina" is not an official LCSH and "Latinos" is listed as a variant.
If you know the subject headings that are likely to be tagged on the item you want to find, search by Subject. Eugene (Or.) -- History is an example of a Geographical Subject Heading.
Subdivisions, or subheadings, are words or phrases which may be added to a subject heading to create a more effective search. They are hyperlinked in LibrarySearch so that you can use them to see all records they are connected with.
Some standard subheadings are:
| Type of Subdivision | Examples | Useful for: |
|---|---|---|
|
Topical – What this item is about (content) |
Museums Aging Statistical Methods |
Narrowing a broader topic into subtopics |
|
Form |
Dictionaries Periodicals Textbooks |
Useful for locating specific types of materials |
|
Chronological |
21st century Japanese Heian period, 794-1185 Middle Ages, 600-1500 |
Locating information about a particular era or time period |
|
Geographical (place) |
England --London Eugene (Or.) Narnia (Imaginary place) |
Finding information about a specific place or region |
| Other Common Subdivisions |
Bibliography Biography Criticism and interpretation Translations into [language] Social life and customs Fiction |
Locating bibliographies, fiction, etc. |
Cataloging librarians follow specific rules for adding LC Subject Headings to an items record.
1501 Kincaid Street
Eugene, OR 97403
P: 541-346-3053
F: 541-346-3485
