Research Guides: Harp: Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias of Terms Related to the Harp

The following music dictionaries and encyclopedias provide entries on the history, development, and repertoire of the harp. Entries may include images, musical examples, and bibliographies of scholarly sources for further reading.

Lexikon der Harfe: ein biographisches, bibliographisches, geographisches und historisches Nachschlagewerk von A-Z [Harp Lexison: A Biographical, Bibliographical, Geographic, and Historical Reference Work from A-Z] by Hans Joachim Zingel
Call Number: ML1005 .Z55
Publication Date: 1977
An Early Music Dictionary by Graham Strahle (Editor)
Call Number: MUSIC REF ML108 .S88 1995
Publication Date: 1995

Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Grove Music Online, Oxford Dictionary of Music, and Oxford Companion to Music. The authoritative resource for music research with over 52,000 articles written by nearly 9,000 scholars charting the diverse history and cultures of music around the globe.

Oxford Companion to Music
Call Number: available online through Oxford Reference
Publication Date: 2011
The Harvard Dictionary of Music by Don Michael Randel (Editor)
Call Number: MUSIC REF ML100 .H37 2003
Publication Date: 2003
Musical Instruments of the World by Diagram Group Staff
Call Number: MUSIC REF ML102.I5 M88 1997
Publication Date: 1997
The Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments, 2nd ed. by Laurence Libin (Editor-In-Chief); Anne Beetem Acker; Carolyn Bryant; J. Richard Haefer; James B. Kopp; Jeremy Montagu
Call Number: MUSIC REF ML102.I5 N48 2014
Publication Date: 2014
Newly revised and expanded into 5 volumes, features in-depth scholarly entries on musical instruments from all over the world, with images. Some of the new content is not yet available in Oxford Music Online.

Music and Dance Librarian

Ann Shaffer

She/Her/Hers

Email Me

Contact:

Pronouns: she/her/hers

During the 2024-2025 school year, I am offering virtual appointments Mondays through Fridays, and in-person appointments on Tuesdays, Wednesdays, and Thursdays.

541-346-1850

Subjects: Dance, Music