Research Guides: Harp: Articles

Want materials (e.g., books, articles) that the library doesn't have? Use Interlibrary Loan!

Submit an Interlibrary Loan (ILL) request if you need something that isn't available in the UO Libraries collection and we will try to get it for you.

Help with ILL

Journals & Databases for Finding Harp-Related Research

Academic and Professional Journals About the Harp

The UO Libraries Music Collection subscribes to the following print journals related to harp performance and research:

The American Harp Journal by American Harp Society
Call Number: ML1005.A4 + Online
Publication Date: 1967
Physical holdings include v.1 (1968)-v.26(2017) and current bound issues under Music - Current Periodicals. Online coverage from 2007.
AHS Teachers Forum by American Harp Society
Call Number: ML1005 .A4
Publication Date: 1997-2004
Physical holdings include years 1997-2004.

Databases for Finding Research About the Harp

To find articles and dissertations related to the harp in other scholarly and trade publications, try searching in some of the following databases. Some of these provide full-text access to articles, while others provide only citation information and abstracts (summaries); you can use InterLibrary Loan (ILL) to request copies of articles that UO does not have. See the "Articles" tab in the main Music Research Guide for additional database suggestions.

Music Index This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive guide to music periodicals and literature featuring digitized content from 1970 to present. This database contains cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians, and the music industry for more than 475 periodicals, as well as book reviews, obituaries, news, and selective coverage for more than 230 periodicals. .
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (1967-present) This link opens in a new window
Bibliography of music literature providing broad international coverage of thousands of journals, books, dissertations, conference proceedings and Festscrhiften.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Online archive of peer reviewed/scholarly journals in all disciplines.

Music and Dance Librarian

Ann Shaffer

She/Her/Hers

Email Me

Contact:

Pronouns: she/her/hers

During the 2024-2025 school year, I am offering virtual appointments Mondays through Fridays, and in-person appointments on Tuesdays, Wednesdays, and Thursdays.

541-346-1850

Subjects: Dance, Music