Skip to Main Content

Government Information

A guide to government resources at the University of Oregon

Quick Reference

Reference Works
Databases

Commonly Used Online Government and IGO References

Oregon

Oregon Blue Book
The official state fact book about all levels of government in Oregon... and more.

U.S. Federal Government

Statistical Abstract of the US This link opens in a new window

Statistical Abstract of the United States
Older editions of the Statistical Abstract are available for free here from the U.S. Census.
United States Government Manual

Intergovernmental Organizations

General / Bibliographic Databases

United States

Catalog of U.S. Government Publications

Govinfo This link opens in a new window
Govinfo is a service of the United States Government Publishing
Office (GPO), a Federal agency. It provides free public access to official
publications from all three branches of the Federal Government. It replaces
GPO’s Federal Digital System (FDsys).
ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window

Introduction to ProQuest Congressional tutorial
If you have not yet used ProQuest Congressional, this video tutorial will be helpful.

International

Government of Canada Publications
European Union: CORDIS
Access to EU research publications.
European Union Bookshop

OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window

UN Official Document System (ODS)
more...less...
The database also includes scanned documents published between 1946 and 1993, including all resolutions of the principal organs, all documents of the Security Council and the General Assembly Official Records. Documents are available in the official languages of the UN.
UNBISnet - UN Bibliographic Information System

Subject and Agency Databases

Citing government sources

Citing U.S. Government Publications
A very helpful guide from Indiana University.

APA

APA 6th edition: Government and Organization Reports

Chicago style

Chicago Style Citations, 16th Edition: Government Publications
From Radford University
Chicago Style Citation Quick Guide for Government Documents
10 page (pdf) guide from Bowdoin College.

MLA

MLA Style (8th ed.) Citations: Government Sources
A quick guide from Radford University.

Last Updated: Oct 1, 2024 1:11 PM
URL: https://researchguides.uoregon.edu/govinfo
Print Page

Subjects: Global Studies, Government Information, Law, Political Science

Tags: Government, International Studies, United States

© University of Oregon. All Rights Reserved.