Research Guides: Government Information: Government & IGO Resources by Subject

Government & IGO Resources by Subject

Agriculture

Oregon Department of Agriculture
US Department of Agriculture (USDA)
USDA Agricultural Research Service
FAO - Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations
Includes forestry and fisheries

Public Lands

Water

Oregon Water Resources Department
Oregon Watershed Planning & Profiles
NOAA Fisheries West Coast Region
U.S. Bureau of Reclamation
The BuRec is the water management agency for the Western U.S., since 1902 - dams, power plants, canals, etc.

Current Weather & Climate
UO Department of Geography
Local Climate Data
State Basin Outlook Reports
Global Change Research Program
U.S. government program mandated by Congress; includes National Climate Assessment Report.
National Weather Service
NOAA Climate Information
GAO Reports on Climate Change Response
State Department Office of Global Change
IPCC - Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change

General

Copyright

Patents

See this guide:

Finding Data & Statistics
by Kathy Stroud Last Updated Nov 8, 2024 1506 views this year

U.S. Department of Energy
U.S. Energy Information Administration
UN-Energy
The United Nations’ mechanism for inter-agency collaboration in the field of energy.
International Energy Agency
"The IEA works to ensure reliable, affordable and clean energy for its 30 member countries and beyond." Provides publications and data.
International Atomic Energy Agency
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC)

See also: Agriculture, Land & Water Resources; Climate and Weather; Energy; Forests; Species & Habitats

United States

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)
EPA National Service Center for Environmental Publications
Environmental Policy Collection
Finding Environmental Impact Statements at Knight Library
Environmental Health & Toxicology (National Library of Medicine)
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)
U.S. Dept. of Justice Environment & Natural Resources Divisin

International

Laws, Regulations, and Treaties

Code of Federal Regulations (CFR)

Pacific Northwest

Forest Service - Region 6 (Pacific Northwest)
Covers Oregon and Washington
Oregon Department of Forestry
List of PNW National Forests
Northwest Forest Plan: Authoritative Documents
Timber Sale Information, Western Oregon

U.S. and International

U.S. Forest Service
Under the Dept. of Agriculture, responsible for managing Federal forests and range lands.
Treesearch - Forest Service Research Publications
U.S. Forest Service Road Management Website
Canada - National Forestry Database
FAO Forestry
United Nations Forum on Forests

General

Federal Government Forms, by Agency

Benefits

Consumer Information and Complaints

Education

Health & Health Insurance

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
MedlinePlus
Oregon Health Plan
Oregon's Medicaid program
Oregon HealthCare.gov
"Connecting Oregonians to health coverage"

Jobs

Taxes

Travel

U.S. Dept. of State Travel page
Travelers' Health from the CDC
Travel Oregon
Places to go, things to do, travel planning resources

Voting

Oregon Health Authority
U.S. Dept of Health and Human Services
Multiple agencies are under DHHS, including the CDC, Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), FDA, Indian Health Service, and the National Institutes of Health (NIH)
Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC)
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services
Food & Drug Administration (FDA)
Indian Health Service
National Institutes of Health (NIH)
U.S. Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA)

Reference

Constitutions, Treaties, and Official Declarations
Council on Foreign Relations
Electronic Research Collections
Foreign Affairs Ministries on the Web
Listed alphabetically by country.
WWW Virtual Library: International Affairs Resources

Treaties

U.S. Foreign Policy

U.S. Department of Defense

U.S. Department of Defense
Home page of the Defense Dept, with links to home pages for the various armed services and other Defense Department sites.
Defense Intelligence Agency
Defense Technical Information Center
Joint Chiefs of Staff
Institute for National Strategic Studies
INSS conducts and publishes research in support of the programs at the National Defense University (DoD).

Other U.S. Agencies

GAO reports on Homeland Security and International Affairs

NGOs and IGOs

Digital national security archive This link opens in a new window

Veterans, Military, Families

For information on benefits, resources, etc., for veterans, active service members, Guard and Reserve members, see this guide:

Resources for Veterans, Active Military, Guard, Reserve, and Families
by Kathy Stroud Last Updated May 3, 2024 595 views this year