Research Guides: Global Studies: Articles (Scholarly)

Finding articles

To look for articles in journals, newspapers, or magazines, you will need to start with a database. An database will allow you to look by subject or a few keywords which describe your topic or by author.

Top databases for Global Studies:

Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database providing indexing, abstracts, and selected full text for peer reviewed/scholarly articles, magazines, trade publications, and newspapers in all fields.
Web of science core collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Web of Science Core Collection (1965-present). Search the world’s leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities and navigate the full citation network.

Other important databases:

Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new window
Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
ATLA religion database with ATLASerials This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
Topics covered include government, international relations, environment, political science, public administration and more.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Covers scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including theses, books, abstracts and articles. Access Google Scholar items from off-campus.