Research Guides: Entrepreneurship & Business Planning: Patents & Trademark Research

Basic Patent Searching

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.

Google Patents
Search and read the full text of patents from around the world.
USPTO Research Databases
WIPO Patentscope
Using PATENTSCOPE you can search 59 million patent documents including 3.1 million published international patent application

Eight centuries This link opens in a new window
Eight Centuries is a database covering source material dating from 1106 until 1960, aggregating indexes, catalogs, collections, and other finding aids. It provides access to articles, newspapers, books, U.S. patents, government documents, and images, with links to full-text where available.

US Patent & Trademark Office
The United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) is the federal agency for granting U.S. patents and registering trademarks.
Canadian Intellectual Property Office
The Canadian Intellectual Property Office (CIPO) is a part of Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada. CIPO is responsible for the administration and processing of the greater part of intellectual property (IP) in Canada.
European Patent Office (Espacenet)
Espacenet contains data on more than 95 million patent documents from around the world.
Japan Patent Office
World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO)
The World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) is the global forum for intellectual property services, policy, information and cooperation.