Research Guides: Entrepreneurship & Business Planning: News & Other Articles

Article Databases with Business Coverage

Use the "Find it" link to access full text articles
Start with the default search settings and simple keyword searches using only a few terms
Too many results? Add additional terms, change the date range, or limit to a specific publication type. Also, take a look at the Advanced search options for more precise options.
Too few results? Try fewer or different terms and remove other limiters.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Magazines, newspapers and journals in all business disciplines including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics going back to 1886. Additional content includes financial data, books, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database providing indexing, abstracts, and selected full text for peer reviewed/scholarly articles, magazines, trade publications, and newspapers in all fields.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Factiva is a research platform providing access to over 33,000 global news sources, including newspapers, magazines, and journals in 32 languages from over 200 countries. It offers millions of corporate profiles and advanced tools for analyzing media coverage.
Limited to four simultaneous users. Please logout when you have finished. Text or data mining is prohibited in the Factiva database.
Portland business journal This link opens in a new window
Portland Business Journal covers the latest business news from the Portland metropolitan area, covering 18 different industries, plus access to the Weekly Edition, Books of Lists, Local Search Archives, and more.
Use your @uoregon.edu email address to create an account at the link above. Make sure to join the University of Oregon group subscription during the registration process for full access. If you already have an account, simply login with your @uoregon.edu email address and the password you set up. If you'd like to access a Business Journal other than Portland Business Journal, use the dropdown menu in the top left corner of the screen to choose which journal you'd like to access. Your account gives you subscriber level access to all of them.

Specialty Databases

In addition to the general databases listed above, specialty databases like those listed below will help you find research and discussion on the specific products & services your business or product is related to.

Sourcing Journal This link opens in a new window
Premiere trade journal for apparel and textiles focusing on sourcing and manufacturing. Covers global market conditions, news stories, and industry white papers.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Index to publications in architecture, urban design, urban planning, interior design, and historic preservation from 1741 to present day.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Major index to articles covering all aspects of medicine
BuildingGreen This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive content on sustainable design practices and green building materials. Shares expertise and lessons learned from design experts working in the field. Builds context for sustainable design strategies and what makes a building product or material green.
IEEE Xplore digital library This link opens in a new window
IEEE publications, including transactions, journals, magazines, conference proceedings, and standards in electrical engineering, computer science, physics, bioengineering, aerospace, and related fields.