Research Guides: Finding Data & Statistics: Sources by Subject

Sources by Subject

U.S. Census - General Tools and Sources

data.census.gov
data.census.gov is the new platform to access demographic and economic data from the U.S. Census Bureau. It contains the most recent 10 years of American Community Survey data; 2000, 2010, and 2020 Decennial Census data; and Economic Census data since 2012. American FactFinder is no longer available.
American Community Survey (ACS) - User Guidance
Census Business Builder (CBB)
CBB is a suite of services that provide selected demographic and economic data from the Census Bureau tailored to specific types of users in a simple to access and use format. There is a Small Business Edition and a Regional Analyst Edition.
Census OnTheMap
A mapping and reporting tool for exploring where the US workforce lives and works as well as identifying workforce characteristics for geographic areas.
CensusScope
Current Population Survey
Current Population Reports
Race and Ethnicity in the Census
A brief pdf explaining how the Census treats race and ethnicity.

Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Offers U.S. Census data and maps from 1790 to present, along with some other sources. An easy-to-use source, but does not contain all Census data.

StatsAmerica

Oregon Census Data

Agricultural and Economic Censuses

USDA Census of Agriculture

see also QuickStats tool

US Economic Census

Historical Census

Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Maps and reports based on U.S. Census and other data sources, 1790 to present.

Oregon

Oregon Population Estimates (Annual Reports)
Census Data for Oregon
Oregon Survey Research Laboratory
A UO research center that designed and conducted surveys on selected target populations. The OSRL closed in June 2005, but the data is archived here in UO Scholars' Bank.

United States

See also the Census (U.S.) tab, above.

International

Census of Canada (Statistics Canada)
EuroStat
International Data Base (US Census)
National Statistical Offices
A list of links to web sites maintained by the UN Statistics Division.
OECD Factbook
Population Reference Bureau
UNdata
World Population Trends

See the Economic Data section in:

Economics
by Genifer Snipes Last Updated Sep 25, 2023 197 views this year

General

National Center for Education Statistics

For quick statistics, see the Digest of Education Statistics and Condition of Education. NCES has many other annual publications and reports on special topics

Higher Education (Rankings)

♦Be aware that all ranking systems have their flaws and biases.

International

(The three international sites below explain their ranking methodology.)

U.S. Colleges & Universities

The most popular and well-known U.S. rankings site, but be aware it is controversial and has received much criticism, although it is not alone in this. You can read about their methodology here.

More on college rankings:

College Confidential
College and University Rankings
from the U. Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Library,even more ranking sources, including for specialized programs and needs, and a "Caution and Controversy" page.

General (scroll down for Climate, Energy, Forests, Hazardous Substances, and Water)

Climate

Energy

Forests

Hazardous Substances

Water

Elections - General & International

Elections - United States

Center for American Women in Politics
Dave Leip's Atlas of U.S. Presidential Elections
more...less...
Note that the map colors are the opposite of what you'd expect: red=Democrat, blue=Republican
Federal Elections Commission (FEC) Library
Gubernatorial Elections
Mayoral Elections Center
Presidential Elections Data
State Elections and Campaigns
US Clerk of the House Election Data
United States Elections Project
U.S. Electoral College Historical Election Results
Voting & Elections Sources in State Agency Databases

Elections - Oregon

Oregon Secretary of State Election Statistics

Government (U.S.)

US Congress Votes Database
Vital Statistics on Congress
From the Brookings Institution; provides useful data on the US Congress, including data on the composition of its membership, its formal procedure (such as the use of the filibuster), informal norms, party structure, and staff. With some chapters of data dating back nearly 100 years, Vital Statistics also documents how Congress has changed over time.

Government Budgets & Finances

RAND state statistics This link opens in a new window
Contains nearly 200 Social Science databases covering all 50 U.S. states and some municipalities, including federal, state, and municipal government statistics on taxes, debt, expenditures, and employment.

Government Performance (Voting records, etc.)

Law & the Courts

United States

RAND state statistics This link opens in a new window
Contains nearly 200 Social Science databases covering all 50 U.S. states and some municipalities. Includes data on health and healthcare.

Canada

International

WHO Global Health Observatory

OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window

United States

Roper iPoll This link opens in a new window

Survey Sites with State or Regional Emphansis

International

Portals and General Sites

Specific Subjects

see also Environment tab, above

This page links to statistics on child welfare, crime, hunger/food assistance, immigration, poverty, social security and welfare recipients

Education and Women's & Gender Issues have their own pages.

International

United States

America's Children: Key National Indicators of Well-Being
CDE: Crime Data Explorer
The FBI's new data portal; replaces Uniform Crime Reports (UCR). Includes law enforcement data. "Use the CDE to discover available data through visualizations, download data in .csv format, and other large data files."
Children's Bureau Statistics & Research
CrimeMapping.com
Food Research & Action Center Data and Publications
Office of Immigration Statistics
Poverty Statistics from US Census

RAND state statistics This link opens in a new window
Contains nearly 200 Social Science databases covering all 50 U.S. states and some municipalities.

for earlier Uniform Crime Reports see Uniform Crime Reports, 1936-2004, at the LLMC Digital Law Library.