Old Believers in North America

WORKS IN CULTURAL ANTHROPOLOGY / ETHNOGRAPHY / FOLKLORE

Museums and Archival Collections

• Columbia River Basin Ethnic History Archive (CRBEHA)
• Consortium Library Archives and Special Collections (University of Alaska Anchorage/Alaska Pacific University)
• End of Steel Heritage Museum and Park
• Fairview Pioneer Museum
• Fairview Public Library
• Grande Prairie Public Library
• Library of Congress American Folklife Center
• Museum of Russian Old Orthodox History and Culture
• Oregon Historical Society
  • Valley Migrant League Collection.
• Pratt Museum
• Provincial Archives of Alberta
• Randall V. Mills Archives of Northwest Folklore
• Royal Alberta Museum
• Salem Public Library
• Woodburn Public Library

Adams, Dail. Field Report File 060073138. (1972-1973). Randall V. Mills Folklore Archive, University of Oregon, Eugene.

Barbich, Sergei. "Old Believers from Alaska." Sputnik 7 (1993): 104-109.

Beliajeff, Anton S.; Morris, Richard A. "Toward a Further Understanding of the Old Believers." Cahiers du Monde Russe et Sovietique 28, no. 3-4 (July-Dec. 1987): 425-428.

Boeninger, Mary C. "The Starovery of Woodburn: A Preliminary Study of a School in Cross-Cultural Context." Randall V. Mills Folklore Archive, University of Oregon, Eugene.

Bushnell, John. Russian Peasant Women Who Refused to Marry: Spasovite Old Believers in the Eighteenth and Nineteenth Centuries. Bloomington, IN: Indiana University Press, 2017. 339 pp.

Carrasco, Priscilla. Praise Old Believers. Portland, Oregon: Priscilla Carrasco in association with Burdock/Burn Art Resource, 2003. 334 p.

Clymer, Martha Bahniuk. Radical Acculturation Patterns in a Traditional Immigrant Group. Final Report. U.S. Dept. of Health, Education, and Welfare, Office of Education, Bureau of Research; Philadelphia: Temple University, 1970. 76 pp.

Colfer, Arthur Michael. Morality, Kindred and Ethnic Boundary: A Study of the Oregon Old Believers. Immigrant Communities and Ethnic Minorities in the United States and Canada 3. New York: AMS Press, 1985. 159 pp.

de Sherbinin, Julie. "Journey to the Past: a Year With the Old Believers." Amherst (June 1980): 24-27.

Dean, Kevin. "The Russian Old Believers—a Different Perspective." (Interview). Field Report File 061580049, tape T-5-06180049. Randall V. Mills Folklore Archive, University of Oregon, Eugene.

Dolitsky, Alexander B. Change, Stability, and Values in the World of Culture: A Case from Russian Old Believers in Alaska. 2nd. ed. Alaska-Siberia Research Publications 6. Juneau, AK: Alaska-Siberia Research Center, 1994. 42 pp.

—— Old Russia in Modern America: A Case from Russian Old Believers in Alaska. 4th ed. Alaska-Siberia Research Publications 10. Juneau, AK: Alaska-Siberia Research Center, 2017. 80 pp.

—— Staraia Rossiia v sovremennoi Amerike: russkie staroobriadtsy na Aliaske. Alaska-Siberia Research Publications 14. Juneau, AK: Alaska-Siberia Research Center, 2007. 56 pp.

Fedorova, S. G.  "Sem'ia u Russkikh Staroverov na Aliaska." In Sem'ia u Narodov Ameriki. Edited by Sh. A. Bogina, 297-307. Moscow: Nauka, 1991.

Flores, Merced, et al. Cultural and Program Awareness Manual for Migrant Educators. Directions and Program Awareness for Administrators, Teachers, and Aides. Salem, OR: Oregon State Department of Education, Compensatory Education Section. Oregon Migrant Education Service Center, 1982. 142 pp. (ERIC Document #ED225743).

Hixon, Margaret. Old Believers. Virginia: Folkstreams, 1981. DVD, 29 min. (Also available online through Folkstreams.)

Hudanish, John P. "Report on the Russian Orthodox Old Believer Community in Oregon." Woodburn Department of Human Resources: August 1973. 23 p.

Johnson, Patricia White. “Dress and Acculturation among the Russian Old Believers in Oregon.” MA thesis, Oregon State University, 1983. 134 pp.

Jones, Suzi. Webfoots and Bunchgrassers: Folk Art of the Oregon Country. Salem, Oregon: Oregon Arts Commission, 1980.

Kane, Eileen M. "Old Believers." Brown Alumni Monthly, Nov. 1996, 20-27.

Kasatkina, Rozaliia Frantsevna. "Oregonskie staroobriadtsy." Zhivaia starina 48, no. 4 (2005): 51-54.

Kuzmina, Liudmila P. "Old Believers in North America." Paper presented at the conference of the Congress of the International Society for European Ethnology and Folklore (SIEF). Suz'dal, USSR, September 1982. Located at the Randall V. Mills Folklore Archive, University of Oregon, Eugene. 17 pp.

—— "Staroobriadtsy. Opyt k probleme aotsial'no-kul'turnoi adaptatsii." In Staroobriadchestvo; istoriia, kul'tura, sovremennost': tezisy 1997, edited by O.P. Ershova, V.I. Osipov, and Y.I. Sokolova, 7-9. Moscow: Muzei istorii i kultury staroobriadchestva, 1997. The entire volume in which this article is published is available for full download here.

La Gorce, John Oliver. "Penn's Land of Modern Miracles." National Geographic 68, no.1 (July 1935): 1-58.

Morris, Richard A. "Contemporary Old Believer Settlements in Western United States: 20th Century Accommodation and Preservation." In Sprache, Literatur und Geschichte der Altgläubigen, edited by Baldur Panzer and Timo Haapenen, 133-148. Heidelberg: Carl Winter, 1988.

—— "The Dispersion of Old Believers in Russia and Beyond." In "Silent as Waters We Live" Old Believers in Russia and Abroad: Cultural Encounter With the Finno-Ugrians, edited by Juha Pentikainen,103-125. Helsinki: Finnish Literature Society, 1999.

——  "Icons Amidst Russian Old Believers of Oregon and Alaska." in Byzantium in the Casting Ladle: A Millennium of Metal Icons (exhibit brochure). Edited by Galina Frolova and Pia Lillbroända. Vantaa, Finland: Vantaan Kaupunginmuseo, 2000.

• Same title printed in Russian Copper Icons and Crosses from the Kunz Collection: Castings of Faith (exhibit brochure), Smithsonian Studies in History and Technology 51. Edited by Richard Eighme Ahlborn and Vera Beaver-Bricken. Smithsonian Institution Press, 1991.

——  "Mir molodykh staroobriadtsev v Origone." In Traditsionnaia dukhovnaia i material'naia kul'tura russkikh staroobriadcheskikh poselenii v stranakh Evropy, Azii i Ameriki. Sbornik nauchnykh trudov, edited by Nikolai Nikolaevich Pokrovskii and Richard A. Morris, 17-22. Novosibirsk: "Nauka," Sibirskoe Otdelenie, 1992.

——  "Obschina staroverov v Amerike kak odna iz modelei dlia razvitiia demokratii v Rossii." In Skupiska Staroobrzedowcow w Europie, Azji i Ameryce: ich Miesce i Tradycje we Wspolczesnym Swiecie, edited by Iryda Grek-Pabisowa, Irena Maryniakowa and Richard Morris, 23-31. Warsaw: Slawistyczny Osrodek Wydawniczy: Polska Akademia Nauk, Instytut Slawistyki, 1994.

——  “Old Believers.” In Russia and Eurasia, China, ed. Paul Freidrich, 272-275. Vol. 6 of Encyclopedia of World Cultures. Boston, Mass. G.K Hall, 1991.

——  "The Old Believers: the Survival of a Religious and Cultural Heritage." SEEFA Journal 6, no.2 (Fall 2001): 5-10.

—— "Po Starykovsky (The Old People's Way): End of Life Attitudes and Customs in Two Traditional Russian Communities." In Coping With the Final Tragedy: Cultural Variation in Dying and Grieving, edited by David R. Counts and Dorothy A. Counts., 91-112. Amityville, New York: Baywood Publishing Company, 1991.

—— "Polevaia rabota po izucheniiu traditsionnoi russkoi kul'tury v SShA i Rossii." In Traditsionnaia narodnaia kul'tura naseleniia Urala: materialy mezhdunarodnoi nauchno-prakticheskoi konferentsii, edited by S.A. Dimukhametova et al., 34-38. Perm: Permskii Obl. Kraevedcheskii Muzei, 1997.

—— "The Problem of Preserving a Traditional Way of Life Amongst the Old Believers of the USA and the USSR." Religion in Communist Lands 18, no. 4 (Winter 1990): 356-362.

—— “Russian Old Believers.” American Immigrant Cultures: Builders of a Nation, 2 vols., 743-748. Edited by David Levinson and Melvin Ember. New York: MacMillan, 1997.

—— "Russian Orthodox Old Believers: Traits of a 17th Century Culture in the 21st Century." In Russia and the Asian-Pacific Region, edited by Vladimir Maliavin, 22-47. Taipei, Taiwan: Tamkang University, 2004.

—— "Sokhranie i izmenenie etnichnosti v polietnicheskoi srede." In Etnicheskie protsessy v SSSR i SSHa: materialy sovetsko-amerikanskogo simpoziuma, edited by V.I. Kozlov. 163-183. Moskva: INION AN SSSR, 1986.

—— "Staroobriadtsy v Oregone." Zhivaia starina, 3 (1994): 54-55.

• A complete bibliography of this journal can be downloaded for free through the Center of Russian Folklore (Tsentr russkogo folklora).

—— and Morris, Tamara. "Svadebnyi obriad u staroobriadtsev Oregona." Zhivaia starina 2(54), (2007): 15-18.

—— “Three Russian Groups in Oregon: a Comparison of Boundaries in a Pluralistic Environment.” PhD diss., University of Oregon, 1981. 435 pp.

Morris, Tamara. "Odezhda staroverov Oregona." Zhivaia starina, 3 (2016): 32-37.

Nitoburg, Eduard L'vovich. "Russkie religioznye sektanty i starovery v SSHa." Novaia i noveishaia istoriia 3 (1999): 34-55.

Paskievich, John. The Old Believers. Featuring Amanda McConnell, Charles Konowal, Harvey Spak, and David Scheffel. Montreal, Quebec: National Film Board of Canada, 1988. DVD, 57 min.

Peskov, Vasilii. Aliaska bol'she, chem vy dumaete. Moskva: Fond im. I.D. Sytina: AO "Komsomol'skaia Pravda", 1994. 302 pp.

Reardon, Jim. "A Bit of Old Russia Takes Root in Alaska." National Geographic 142, no 3 (September 1972): 401-424.

Scheffel, David. In the Shadow of Antichrist: the Old Believers of Alberta. Peterborough, Ontario: Broadview Press, 1991.

——  “Old Believers.” The Canadian Encyclopedia.

——  “Old Believers.” In Encyclopedia of Canada's Peoples, 1020-1023. Edited by Paul Magocsi. Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 1999.

——  “The Old Believers of Berezovka.” PhD diss., McMaster University, 1988. 261 pp. (Full text available here from McMaster University.)

——  "The Russian Old Believers of Alberta. Can Prince Vladimir's Heirs Survive in the Canadian Mosiac?" Canadian Geographic 103, no.5 (Oct/Nov 1983): 62-69.

—— ""There is Always Somewhere To Go" - Russian Old Believers and the State." In Outwitting the State, edited by Peter Skalnik, 109-120. New Brunswick, N.J.: Transaction Publishers, 1989.

Sokoloff, Alexis. "Mediaeval Russia in the Pittsburgh District." The Survey 33 (November 1914): 145-151. Reprinted as "Russian Old Believers in Pittsburgh 1914" in The Russians in America: a Chronology and Fact Book, edited by Vladimir Wertsman, 61- 66. Dobbs Ferry, N.Y. : Oceana Publications, 1977.

• Article was reprinted in Wage-Earning Pittsburg, 78-96. Vol. 6 of Pittsburg Survey. New York: Survey Associates, 1914. It is available to view in full through Harvard University's libraries.

Silva, Amber Lee. Unsettling Diaspora: The Old Believers of Alaska. Ottawa: Library and Archives Canada = Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, 2010. 142 pp. Full text is available via Library and Archives Canada.

Teruoka, Gito. Hakkei Rojin No Eino To Seikatsu: Romanofuka-mura No Seikatsu Jokyo. Tokyo: Osakayago Shoten, Showa 17, 1942. 62 pp.

Untiedt, Jules Albert. “Impingement Upon Old Believers By Agents of Social Change.” PhD diss., United States International University, 1977. 155 pp.

Wigowsky, Paul J. Collection of Old Believer History and Traditions.

Wigowsky, Paul J. Freedom for an Old Believer. Woodburn, Or.: P.J. Wigowsky, 1982.
(available online at http://wigowsky.com/products.html)

Zharinov, Dennis. "Do boli rodnaia, rodnaia Boliviia." Aeroflot Inflight Magazine (July-August 2003): 192-200.