Old Believers in North America

NOTE: Articles from the New York Times can be accessed through ProQuest subscription databases such as "Historical New York Times (1851-2015)" and "New York Times (2008-present)." Users with University of Oregon Library privileges can find access to both those databases HERE.

Barbich, Sergei. "Old Believers from Alaska." Sputnik 7 (1993): 104-109.

Bigart, Homer. "Members of Russian Religious Group Who Came to the U. S. After a Stay in Turkey Thrive in New Jersey: Old Believers Leaning to New Ways." Special to the New York Times, April 27, 1966.

• The article includes a photograph of an Old Believer family outside their home, all wearing traditional garb.

Branch, John. "Left in Peace: Sochi's Old Believers' Cemetery, Then and Now." New York Times, August 20, 2013.

• The article includes photographs showing of a century-old cemetery for Old Believers which was left untouched, while new facilities for the 2014 Sochi Winter Olympics were erected all throughout the immediately surrounding environs. One photo depicts grave sites, a second pair of aerial photographs shows the area before and after construction.

Carrasco, Priscilla and Don Wilcox. "Promised Land." Woodburn Independent, Dec. 2 1965, French Prairie magazine section, Vol. 11, no. 2, p. 1.

de Sherbinin, Julie. "Journey to the Past: a Year With the Old Believers." Amherst (June 1980): 24-27.

"Feighan View Disputed." Special to the New York Times, June 3, 1963.

• "VALLEY COTTAGE, N.Y., June 2—Countess Alexandra Tolstoy [daugher of author Leo Tolstoy] took issue tonight with Representative Feighan's suggestion that the decision to receive the [250 assylum-seeking] Old Believers had been based on publicity or hearsay."

Franklin, Ben A. "Entry of Russian Sect to U.S. Attacked by House Unit's Head: Feighan Fears the Arrival of 250 Old Believers Will Start 'Chain Reaction'—Hearings Under Consideration." Special to the New York Times, June 3, 1963.

Hill, Gladwin. "Russian Refugees Arrive on Coast." Special to the New York Times, May 16, 1958.

Jonassen, Wendi; Loughlin, Ryan. "A 17th-Century Russian Community Living in 21st-Century Alaska." The Atlantic, May 1, 2013.

• The article tells the story of a "clan [that] has traveled from Russia through China, Brazil, and Oregon to make a home in the remote north, struggling to avoid modernization."

Kane, Eileen M. "Old Believers." Brown Alumni Monthly, Nov. 1996, 20-27.

Karnow, Anastasia and Nadine Karnow. "Pimen Sofronov: Master Iconographer." Russian Orthodox Journal 47, no. 4. (Sept. 1973):14-15.

La Gorce, John Oliver. "Penn's Land of Modern Miracles." National Geographic 68, no.1 (July 1935): 1-58.

"Last 250 Russians in Old Sect In Turkey Will Resettle, in U.S.: Flight to Rockland Approved for Group Under Pressure to Return to Soviet." Special to the New York Times, April 22, 1963.

Levy, Clifford J. "Its Population Failing, Russia Beckons Its Children Home." New York Times, March 22, 2009.

• The article profiles a member of an Old Believer community that had settled in Uruguay, but had recently returned to Russia. It tells the larger story of the Russian government's efforts to "head off the country's steep population decline" with a repatriation program that "lur[es] back Russians who live abroad as well as their descendants." "Not limiting itself to Russia's neighbors," the story goes on, the government "is sending emissaries around the world" and even to remote Diaspora populations, like the Old Believers. The article includes a photograph of its main subject, Vasily Reutov and his brother-in-law. Both men wear beards and traditional shirts.

Longman, Jeré and Matthnew Kruchak. "Football among the Old Believers, in Alaska." New York Times, August 31, 2017.

—— "A Tiny School's Big Challenges. Alaska Town Meshes Old Belief's With New Age, Including Football." New York Times, September 3, 2017.

• The article includes a few charming photographs of teenage Old Believers playing outside. The boys appear to be wearing contemporary clothing, while the young women don more traditional dresses and head scarves.

Moorman, Brother Ambrose. "A Short History of the Old Believer Communities in Oregon." St. Benedict, OR: 1972. 8 p. Available in full through the Washington State University's digital archives.

"'Old Believers' back public school." The Oregonian, April 21, 1978.

"Old Believers blend tradition, automation." The Oregonian, January 19, 1984.

"Old Believers' cling to customs of Russian faith." The Oregonian, March 5, 1978.

Reardon, Jim. "A Bit of Old Russia Takes Root in Alaska." National Geographic 142, no 3 (September 1972): 401-424.

"Russian Prelate Urges Removal of the Curses on the Old Believers." Special to the New York Times, June 22, 1971.

"Russian State Matters: A Blow to 'Old Believers'—Sensational Reports from Kashgar Denied." New York Times, June 27, 1881.

• "The Court of Justice, of Moscow, has confirmed the judgment of the Novgorod Tribunal, ordering that a newly built church belonging to the sec of Old Believers be pulled down and that the materials be sold for the benefit of the local Zemstvo. The Golos, commenting on the above, says it is no wonder there is discontent among the masses when the people are not allowed to follow the faith of their fathers."

Scheffel, David. "The Russian Old Believers of Alberta. Can Prince Vladimir's Heirs Survive in the Canadian Mosiac?" Canadian Geographic 103, no.5 (Oct/Nov 1983): 62-69.

"School battle ends for Old Believers." The Oregonian, April 29, 1978.

Sokoloff, Alexis. "Mediaeval Russia in the Pittsburgh District." The Survey 33 (November 1914): 145-151. Reprinted as "Russian Old Believers in Pittsburgh 1914" in The Russians in America: a Chronology and Fact Book, edited by Vladimir Wertsman, 61- 66. Dobbs Ferry, N.Y. : Oceana Publications, 1977.

• Article was reprinted in Wage-Earning Pittsburg, 78-96. Vol. 6 of Pittsburg Survey. New York: Survey Associates, 1914. It is available to view in full through Harvard University's libraries.

Todd-Hooker, Kathe. "The Embroidery of the Russian Old Believers." Piecework 9, no. 3 (May/June 2001): 46-48.

Thomas, Kristine. "Russian Old Believers will share their culture in a public gala in Canby." Special to The Oregonian Oregon Live, May 22, 2010.

Woolf, Zachary. "Fanaticism and Devotion in a Fragmented Russia." New York Times, February 29, 2012.

• The article reviews the New York Opera's production of Mussorgsky's "Khovanshchina." It includes three photographs of the production.

Wright, George Cable. "Old Believers Adjust to Life and Learning in U.S.: Members of Sect Retain Traditions After Immigration From Turkey." Special to the New York Times, July 12, 1963.

• The article includes three photographs of the resettled Old Believer community: children running in a schoolyard; a mother and her two children at home; and two men working at a concrete plant.

Zagvozdkina, Katya. "Welcome--Dobro pozhalovat'--to the vast Russian community hidden in Portland." Oregon Live, June 30, 2017.

Zharinov, Dennis. "Do boli rodnaia, rodnaia Boliviia." Aeroflot Inflight Magazine (July-August 2003): 192-200.