Skip to main content
University of Oregon
UO Libraries

LibrarySearch Help

This guide provides information on the different ways you can use LibrarySearch to locate print and electronic resources.

Finding Articles in LibrarySearch

LibrarySearch allows you to search a selection of the research databases available through the UO Libraries. The boxes below describe the two ways you can locate articles via LibrarySearch. Remember you are only seeing a small portion of the articles available through our databases, for more refined searching go directly to specific our Databases A-Z List.

Search for Articles by Keyword

The best way to refine your search to find only articles is to use the "Articles" option from the dropdown menu. Enter keywords that represent the topic you are researching. We recommend starting with a couple words that represent the main concepts of the topic. Use AND, OR, NOT to help with your searching. See the "Search Tips" page for more information.

LibrarySearch for articles with keywords

Search for Articles by Title

Use the "Articles" option from the dropdown menu to limit your search to only articles. If you know the name of the article you are looking for you can also change the default to "Title" and enter the article title (see below). 

Search for articles by title in LibrarySearch

 

Find the Full Text of Articles

If we have either the full-text (PDF) or the abstract of the article the results should come back with a match. If the complete article is available through the UO Libraries, you will see a link to either "Download PDF" or "Full text available" (see below). 

Find the full text of articles in LibrarySearch

Most often you will have to link out to another database to find the complete article. When you click on the "Full text available" link you will see the database options where the complete article is available (see the example below). You may be prompted to enter your DuckID to pass into the new database.

Link out to a database to find the complete text of articles from LibrarySearch

Request Scans of Print Articles Available in UO Libraries

What if the article you want isn't available online but is available in a print journal through the UO Libraries? We offer a free "Document Delivery" service for UO faculty, students, and staff whereby we will scan articles from print journals and deliver them to you through ILLiad (the same request system for interlibrary loan requests). You must be signed in to LibrarySearch to see the Document Delivery request option.

When you encounter an article in a journal we only have in print, you will see a link to "REQUEST OPTIONS > Document Delivery" (see example below). Click on the link and you will be prompted to log in to the ILLiad request system. The request form should automatically fill with the citation information. Ignore the link that says "View It > View Online"; it will take you to a new page with a link to Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery.

Request a scan of a print article through document delivery

Request Articles Not Available Through UO Libraries

What if the article you want isn't available through the UO Libraries? When searching LibrarySearch for articles you may encounter items with the message "Not available online -- check other options" and no link to full text. However, we can usually get these articles for you from another library through our interlibrary loan service (ILL). Look for the link to "Get It > Interlibrary Loan" (see example below) and follow the link to the interlibrary loan request system (aka, ILLiad). You will need to be signed in to LibrarySearch to see the request options. You can also go directly to the interlibrary loan request system and fill out the request form with the article's citation information.

Request articles through interlibrary loan

PLEASE NOTE:  We are only able to borrow through ILL for current UO faculty, students, and staff at this time to support remote teaching and learning. Due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, many libraries around the country and world are closed to employees and not fulfilling ILL requests. Obtaining material from other libraries is taking much longer than usual and borrowed items will be quarantined for three days upon arrival. Please use ILL judiciously.

University of Oregon Libraries
1501 Kincaid Street Eugene, OR
97403-1299
T: (541) 346-3053
F: (541) 346-3485
Make a Gift