Welcome to the University of Oregon! This guide will help you get started using the UO Libraries as an undergraduate student. In it, you will find information about the resources, spaces, and services provided by the libraries.
This guide offers:
When you think about libraries, you may think of quiet buildings full of books. And the University of Oregon does have seven library buildings, with books, quiet study spaces, and lots of other things as well - including high tech research and learning spaces and people who provide academic support.
And guess what? Many of our resources - including books and articles you may need to use for your classes - are available online through our website: library.uoregon.edu
Here is some information about the library locations most frequently used by undergraduates:
Knight Library is UO's largest library and is located on the west side of campus in Eugene. It houses collections in the humanities, social sciences, music, and business, as well as special collections and university archives. The Knight Library has both quiet study areas and floors where you can talk, as well as a number of reservable spaces such as group and small group study rooms.
The Knight Library is also home to Special Collections and University Archives, which is home to manuscripts, photographs, University Archives, and rare books collections.
The Price Science Commons supports research and teaching in the natural and physical sciences. Here, you will find open area study spaces and group study rooms as well as a MakerSpace, a VR lab, and a gaming center.
The Design Library, Located in Lawrence Hall, is a ajor center for art and architectural information in the Pacific Northwest. The library's unique, sunlit spaces and seating arrangements provide a welcoming environment for its users.
The Law Library primarily supports the University of Oregon School of Law and certain spaces, like study rooms, are reserved for law students only. That said, undergraduates can visit the law library and use their resources.
The Mathematics Library, located in Fenton Hall, is a place to go to find current textbooks, math journals, and math materials of broad interest. The student staff there also provide drop-in homework help for lower-level math classes (through Math 252) during Fall, Winter, and Spring terms.
In Portland? The UO Portland Library at the Northeast Portland campus holds a print collection that supports programs offered by UO Portland. The Portland Library provides quiet and group study spaces, reservable study rooms, and course reserves for Portland students. Students in Portland can also use all of the electronic resources provided by UO libraries
1501 Kincaid Street
Eugene, OR 97403
P: 541-346-3053
F: 541-346-3485
