Research Guides: ES 399: Race, Indigeneity and Contemporary Art: Finding books, articles, etc.

Getting Started

Librarysearch is the search engine for the library's online catalog. This is a great place to start your library research. Find books, articles, and much more from one simple search bar.

LibrarySearch This link opens in a new window
Covers items owned by the UO Libraries, Summit libraries, and articles and other scholarly research materials.

TIP: Getting Print Materials

If the item you want is a print resource in one of our UO Library branches, such as a book or magazine, you can have it delivered to the research desk of the branch of your choice.

Find the item in the UO LibrarySearch catalog. Once you click on the record, just below the title is a row called Get It and an option to Request UO Item. Select your preferred library branch as your pickup location.

You have to be logged in to see the "Request UO Item" link.

Next Steps

Then, expand your search by looking in a multi-disciplinary database. This resource requires a UO login to access.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database providing indexing, abstracts, and selected full text for peer reviewed/scholarly articles, magazines, trade publications, and newspapers in all fields.

Also try looking in one or more of these recommended art-specific databases. These resources require a UO login to access.

Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window Provides access to Grove Art Online, Benezit Dictionary of Artists, The Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Oxford Companion to Western Art.
ARTstor This link opens in a new window Search over one million digital images in the fields of the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences.As of August 1, 2024 the former Artstor website is now completely incorporated into JSTOR. All content is now located there.
ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) This link opens in a new window Indexing and abstracting of articles, essays and chapters on contemporary art from journals, exhibition catalogs, and books including anthologies and festschriften.
ABM began indexing all aspects of art and art history including architecture and photography from 1800 to the present. Architecture was dropped in 1988. ABM currently indexes modern art from the late 19th century and photography from its invention. All geographic areas of the world are covered and topics range from traditional art media to body art, performance art, grafitti and computer art.

TIP: Borrowing From Other Libraries

Summit and Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

You have the option to borrow material outside of the University of Oregon through two services: Summit and Interlibrary Loan.

The Summit program allows us to share materials with participating college and university library partners throughout Oregon, Washington, and Idaho.

The Interlibrary Loan progam allows us to share materials with participating libraries around the world.

To request an item from another library

If an item is not available via UO Libraries, there may be an option to request it from other libraries.

Under the heading Request from other libraries, select Get a physical copy for a print item or Get a digital chapter or article for an electronic article or book chapter.

For physical items, set the pickup location to the branch of your choice. You will be notified by email when the item has arrived.

For electronic articles/chapters, you will receive the item via email notification.

If our Summit/ILL team cannot borrow the item you want, contact your librarian.