Newspapers - ENGL 660: Racial Ecologies - Wald - Research Guides at University of Oregon Libraries

Newspaper Resources

Newspapers are great sources of primary information. They often contain the first published accounts of an event and provide windows into communities, contemporary social ideas, and local views on current events. The UO Libraries have a large collection of newspapers published in Oregon and electronic access to newspapers published in the United States and around the world.

Image Credit: Jon S. via Flickr under a Creative Commons licence.

Online Newspaper Archives

Search Tip: If you are looking for articles that mention Mount Hood National Forest in older newspapers, you may also want to search on "Oregon National Forest" and "Bull Run Reserve," previous names for part or all of Mount Hood National Forest.

African American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
This enormous collection of African American newspapers contains a wealth of information about cultural life and history during the 1800s and is rich with first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day, including the Mexican War, Presidential and Congressional addresses, Congressional abstracts, business and commodity markets, the humanities, world travel and religion. The collection also provides a great number of early biographies, vital statistics, essays and editorials, poetry and prose, and advertisements all of which embody the African-American experience.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Articles, editorials, and reviews published in approximately 200 ethnic and minority newspapers, magazines and journals published in the U.S, dating back to the mid-1990s.
Searchable in both English and Spanish.
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 This link opens in a new window
Newspapers published between 1808 and 1980 that chronicle the daily life, cultural heritage and world views of Hispanic communities in the U.S.
Features Spanish-language newspapers and titles published bilingually in Spanish and English.
Historic Oregon Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Historic Oregon Newspapers provides digitized versions of selected Oregon newspapers published between 1846 and 2017. Approximately 200 newspapers are included in this collection. Dates of coverage vary from newspaper to newspaper.
Independent Voices This link opens in a new window
Independent Voices is a digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
Oregon newspapers from newspapers.com This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a growing collection of historic newspapers published in Oregon. Access on campus and off-campus to current UO faculty students and staff.

Related Guides

Finding Newspaper Resources: Oregon Describes how to access and search current and archival online Oregon newspapers, as well as the University of Oregon's extensive microfilm collection of old Oregon newspapers.