Art

Pauline Baynes (1922-August 1, 2008) was an illustrator of books primarily for children. The collection includes sketches and drawings relating to Baynes' interest in animals, mythological creatures, fantasy, and fairy tales.

Jeanne Bendick (b. 1919) was an author and illustrator of children's books, mostly nonfiction. The collection includes manuscripts, illustrations, and correspondence relating to Bendick's interest in the sciences, the history of science, and the environment.

Ellis Credle (1902-1998) was an author and illustrator of children's and young adult books. The collection includes manuscript material from her books Andy and the Circus; Little Fraid, Big Fraid; Little Pest Pico; Mexico, Land of Hidden Treasure; and Monkey See, Monkey Do.

Clare Victor Dwiggens (1874-1958) was an author, illustrator, and syndicated cartoonist. The collection (1932-1958) consists of manuscript illustrations, sketches and drawings, WWII posters, publicity, books, and biographical material.

Robert Clinton Frankenberg (1911-2001) was a book illustrator. He was trained at the Art Students League in New York City and began teaching at the School of Visual Arts in 1947. He has illustrated many books for children that appear in the collection. The collection contains various illustrations and detailed working notes.

Arthur D. Fuller (1889-1966) was an illustrator and artist for newspapers, periodicals, and books, and whose specialty was the illustration of hunting and fishing scenes and outdoor action. The collection (1916-1960) contains sketchbooks, drawings, watercolors, oils, and etchings, published examples of Fuller's work, and correspondence.

David Hendrickson, 1896- 1973, was an artist, freelance advertiser, and illustrator of children's literature. This collection documents Hendrickson's' entire career and reflects his interest in the individual person and his ability to capture this in his art.

Inez Hogan (1895-1973) was an educator, author, lecturer, and illustrator of books for children. Hogan is most noted for her animal stories, including a series about animal twins, and her "Nicodemus" series about a young African American boy and his family and friends. The collections consists of forty years of correspondence, literary manuscripts, illustrations, research materials, one scrapbook, photographs, publicity materials, and biographical information.

Nils Hogner (1893-1969) was a muralist and book illustrator who specialized in the illustration of nature books. The collection contains correspondence, original illustrations, manuscripts by Hogner and Dorothy Childs Hogner and others.

Elizabeth Orton Jones (1910-2005) was an illustrator and writer of children's books. The collection consists of an oral history interview of Jones conducted in the fall of 2004 by members of the staff of Special Collections and University Archives, University of Oregon Libraries: Linda Long, Dorothy Knaus, and Hannah Dillon. The collection consists of audio cassette tapes, video cassette tapes, and a complete printed and bound transcript of the interview.

Fred Ludekens was book, and magazine illustrator, who was also a member of the founding faculty of the Famous Artists School (FAS). The collection (1932-1973) contains correspondence, Ludeken's FAS lesson packet, a manuscript regarding FAS, and numerous illustrations.

Eugene P. Lyle Jr. (1873-1961) was a journalist and a writer of pulp fiction who resided in Mexico for a number of years. The collection contains correspondence, manuscripts, printed works, subject files, photographs, and the papers of his son, Eugene Lyle III.

Will B. Nickless (1902-1979) was greatly known for his illustrations of characters from English classics. The collection includes various sketches, watercolor paintings, ink drawings, Christmas cards, and one letter.

Collection comprises artwork and papers related to artist and set designer Willy Pogány, including correspondence with his son, Peter Pogány Scott. Collection includes original art for books, magazines, and motion picture and stage productions.

Edith Ballinger Price (1897-1997) was a noted author and illustrator of children's books. She was a frequent contributor to St. Nicholas and a founder of the Girl Scouts' Brownie program. The collection includes a range of materials related to her publications and is noted for the series of sketchbooks, 1902-1940s that document her evolution as an artist, and the complete set of illustrations for My Lady Lee.

Collection comprises papers of American etcher and architect Louis Conrad Rosenberg, and includes matted etchings, dry points, watercolors, journals, catalogs, architectural renderings, awards, books from his personal library, and information from interviews.

Kate Seredy (1899-1975) won the Newbery Award and Newbery honors for her children's books. Noted as an illustrator for titles such as Caddie Woodlawn, she also illustrated her own works, drawing on her Hungarian childhood for classics including The Good Master and The White Stag. The collection includes illustrations for Caddie Woodlawn and With Harp and Lute, and a representative sampling of her work.

Louis Slobodkin (1903-1975) was an artist and illustrator and writer of books for children. He won the Caldecott Medal in 1943 for Many Moons. The collection contains artwork, manuscripts, correspondence, publicity, photographs, and memorabilia.

This collection is an addendum to the Slobodkin Papers (call number Ax 733) and contains literary manuscripts and sketchbooks, correspondence with publishers, general correspondence, subject files, art exhibition catalogs, book reviews, and royalty statements.

Collection comprises papers of American artist, illustrator and author Helen Damrosch Tee-Van, and includes illustrations from her books (both rough sketches and final drawings), sketch books, educational dioramas, murals, backgrounds for exhibits, manuscripts, articles, underwater illustrations from oceanographic expeditions, photographs, letters, and habitat maps.

Gertrude Bass Warner (1863-1951) was an Asian art enthusiast, internationalist, and traveler. The collection consists of lantern slides documenting Asian art, culture, religion and architecture before World War II, in China, Japan, Korea and Cambodia. Images of the Warner art objects are also included. Inventory is incomplete.

Collection includes personal papers, professional papers, business records, and photographs relating to the life and career of Gertrude Bass Warner (1863-1951), the founder and director emeritus of the University of Oregon Fine Art Museum.

Lisl Weil is a Viennese-born author-illustrator of children's books. The collection includes correspondence, manuscripts, and Weil's illustrations for books by other authors.

Kurt Wiese (1887-1974) was a German-born illustrator and author of American children's literature. The collection is primarily comprised of children's book production material including original drawings, sketches, proofs, manuscripts, and correspondence. Other artwork and personal papers are also included.