Oregon Legal Research

Administrative agencies make rules that implement, enforce, and administer the laws passed by the legislature. Agencies get their powers from an enabling statute. Agency rules can be accessed through free websites, as well as subscription databases.

Oregon Administrative Rules Compilation (OAR) - publication of the permanent Oregon rules. 

Oregon Bulletin (Archive) - The Oregon Bulletin is a monthly online publication containing Notices of Proposed Rulemaking, Permanent and Temporary Administrative Rule filings, along with rule text; as well as Minor Correction filings. The Bulletin also includes non-OAR items when they are submitted, such as Executive Orders of the Governor and Opinions of the Attorney General. Oregon Bulletins published after October 2017 are posted in the Oregon Administrative Rules Database. 

Oregon Administrative Rules Database is an online resource that is continuously updated and provides access to the administrative rules.

Westlaw provides access to the Oregon Regulations. Access Westlaw through the law library website (for law students and faculty only): From the home page, choose the "state materials" tab, then link to Oregon, and scroll to find Oregon Regulations. The collection includes current regulations, historical regulations, proposed regulations, and Oregon Regulation Tracking. 

Lexis provides access to Oregon Administrative Rules and the Oregon Bulletin. Access Lexis through the law library website (for law students and faculty only): From the home page, "state" then "Oregon" then scroll to find Oregon Administrative Rules and the Oregon Bulletin. The collection also includes regulation tracking. 

Oregon State Agencies, Boards and Commissions, A-Z List: Oregon Secretary of State website. 

Oregon Government Publications, State of Oregon Law Library Collection. This collection contains current and historical state government publications.

Oregon State Agency Databases, Oregon Government Documents Roundtable (GODORT) from the American Library Association: an annotated list of databases produced by Oregon State Agencies. 

How to Find an Oregon Administrative Rule History, by Laura Orr. Oregon Legal Research Blog. 

Office of the Governor Website provides access to many resources including: 

• Bills Signed
• Executive Orders
• Board and Commission Appointments
• Judicial Appointments
• Public Records Requests and Calendars

Many agency opinions, decisions, and orders are freely available through the State of Oregon website: 

Attorney General Opinions 

Bureau of Labor and Industries Final Orders 

Division of Financial Regulation Notices and Orders 

Employment Relations Board Orders 

Employment Tax Hearing Decisions 

Oregon Land Use Board of Appeals Final Opinions 

Public Utilities Commission Dockets 

Workers Compensation Board Hearing Decisions

Administrative decisions and other materials are also available on subscription research platforms: 

Oregon Administrative Decisions and Guidance is a collection available on Westlaw (for law students and faculty only). The collection includes Attorney General Opinions; Bureau of Labor & Industries Decisions; Division of Financial Regulation Decisions; Employment Relations Board Decisions; Environmental Administration Decisions; Insurance Bulletins; Land Use Board of Appeals Decisions; Legal Ethics Opinions; Public Utility Commission Decisions; Workers Compensation Administrative Decisions. From the Home Screen, choose the "State Materials" tab, then select the Oregon link, and scroll down to find Administrative Decisions and Guidance. 

Oregon Administrative Materials is a collection available on Lexis (for law students and faculty only). The collection includes Attorney General Opinions; Public Utility Commission Decisions; Department of Commerce, Corporate Division Materials; Department of Environmental Quality; Government Ethics Commission Final Dispositions; Market Conduct Examinations; Bureau of Labor and Industries Decisions; Employment Relations Board Decisions; Insurance Bulletins and Notices; Land Use Board of Appeals Decisions; and Workers Compensation Decisions. From the Home Screen, navigate to "State" then Oregon, then scroll down to find All Oregon Administrative Materials. 

Oregon Attorney General Reports and Opinions (1901 - current) are available on HeinOnline (for the UO Community) in the State Attorney General Reports and Opinions Collection.