Skip to Main Content
University of Oregon
UO Libraries

Citation Management Software - Mendeley

Mendeley is a free desktop and cloud application that helps you manage your research.

About Mendeley Cite

Mendeley Cite logoMendeley Cite

Mendeley Cite is a new citation tool, which is still being developed. Mendeley Cite is compatible with Microsoft Office 365, Microsoft Word versions 2016 and above and with the Microsoft Word app for iPad®. Cite without having Mendeley Reference Manager ("Mendeley Desktop") open or even installed - once you sign in to Mendeley Cite, your Mendeley library is downloaded from the cloud.

Download the MS Office 365 Add-in:

Once downloaded, Mendeley Cite will connect to Office 365 and show up in Office Online in your References Tab.

Mendeley Cite in References Tab in Word in Office Online Office 365

Use the guide below to learn about using Mendeley Cite:

NOTE: Mendeley Cite is not currently compatible with Google Docs. If you are a Google Docs user, please consider using Zotero instead.

Installing Mendeley Cite at UO for Office 365

Steps for installing Mendeley Cite into MS Office through your UO account:

  1. Be sure that you have made the switch from Webmail to UOmail
  2. Log into UO’s Office 365 at office.uoregon.edu
  3. Open a new document in Word (find the Word icon on the left side of the screen)
  4. Click on the “Insert” tab of the ribbon
  5. Click on “Add-ins” in the ribbon
  6. If you’ve signed up for a Mendeley account, you should see “Mendeley Cite” in the Office "Admin Managed" tab. Select "Mendeley Cite," then
  7. Click "Add." If you were successful, you will now see “Mendeley Cite” in the References tab on the Ribbon in Word (and in the "My Add-ins" tab)
    • Note: You may need to repeat this process if the add-in disappears

A screen capture showing Office Add-ins for Office 365

Generating a Bibliography / List of Works Cited

Import Bibliography from Mendeley Cite

The Bibliography or Works Cited section of your manuscript can be created and updated at any point during your writing process. Although you can make manual edits to in-text citations, you should not make manual changes to the citations or bibliography embedded in your document. As the image below suggests, you should make any changes in Mendeley Reference Manager or Mendeley Cite. Changes should sync automatically or you may want to click Refresh.  

A screen capture of the More menu of Mendeley Cite indicating where the tool to Insert Bibliography appears on the screen

Manually override in-text citations

If your citation style does not require you to repeat the author's last names in the parenthetical in-text citation, you can manually override the citation in the Mendeley Cite add-in. Do not edit the in-text citation or the bibliography in your document because you will lose your changes when the document syncs with your Mendeley Reference Manager. Make changes in the MRM or via Mendeley Cite. This example is using APA style.

Tips for Your Bibliography:

  • Your bibliography will not appear until you place your cursor where you want it to appear and then click Insert Bibliography in the Word ribbon.
  • With each in-text citation you add, Mendeley will automatically create the full citation in the bibliography according to the style you select in Word.
  • We recommend making a Section or Page break between your Works Cited page and the rest of your manuscript in order to keep things separate.
  • Don't forget to click Sync in Mendeley Desktop, then Refresh in Word in order to update any errors in the citation information (Details / metadata).
University of Oregon Libraries
1501 Kincaid Street Eugene, OR
97403-1299
T: (541) 346-3053
F: (541) 346-3485
Make a Gift