Research Guides: Introduction to Library Research: Developing a Research Question

Self-Paced Interactive Module - Developing a Research Question

Start Tutorial: Developing a Research Question

Description:

In this tutorial, you will learn how to formulate a research question that is effective and appropriate in scope. You will discover techniques for refining your research question as you begin the research process.

"Formulating a Research Question" by UO Libraries is licensed by CC BY-NC-SA 4.0.

Learning Objectives:

By the end of this module, you will be able to:

Create questions for research of an appropriate scope
Modify your research question as needed after examining available evidence

Sources for Background Research

Background Research Can Help You Get Started

Before you start any research on your topic, you must develop some background knowledge including facts, dates, and names of important people, places, or theories. Books and websites can provide you with that knowledge.

This is important because:

Background sources give you the language that people are using to discuss your topic. You will use this language (look for keywords!) when you start to search databases for scholarly articles and resources on the topic.
This "pre-research" helps you to refine your topic idea and develop an effective research question.

Remember, background information is always a starting point for research, not an ending point.

Sources for Background Information Available Through UO Libraries

Here are some general reference sources available through the UO Libraries. One important note: there are specific sources of background information that are useful in the disciplines. For example, in the field of Art History, a widely known source of background information is Oxford Art Online. Use the Research Guides to find background sources by discipline.

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Reports, summaries, and pro/con views on a range of current issues,1923-present
Gale e-books This link opens in a new window
If searches in this database retrieve incorrect results, clear cache/cookies to resolve the problem.
Online histories, encyclopedias, almanacs, data compilations, works of literary analysis, and other reference sources owned by the UO Libraries.
Gale in context. Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
If searches in this database retrieve incorrect results, clear cache/cookies to resolve the problem.
Full-text resource covering today's hottest social issues. Provides pro and con viewpoint articles, reference articles that provide context, magazines, academic journals, newspapers, primary source documents, statistics, interactive maps, infographics, & more.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Language and subject dictionaries and reference works

Open Web (Free) Resources

Wikipedia
Yes, it is OK to use Wikipedia for background information, but never cite to it. And only use it as a starting point.
Oxford Bibliographies
Some of this content is locked. Contact a Subject Librarian for help accessing information.
Encyclopedia Britannica
Britannica makes many encyclopedia articles freely available to the public. Some content is restricted to a subscription.

Introduction to Library Research

Getting Help

Getting Help During the Research Process