Research Guides: Economics: Economics Data

Statistical Databases

Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable and downloadable edition of the standard source for facts about American history. Allows customized tables and spreadsheets
ICPSR This link opens in a new window
Collection of computer-readable social science data. Data can be used for both research and instructional activities. Studies are comprised of documentation, data (may include versions ready formatted for SPSS or Stata), and program code. You will need to register from a UO IP address to download data.
Data can be used for both research and instructional activities. Studies are comprised of documentation, data (may include versions ready formatted for SPSS or Stata), and program code. You will need to register from a UO IP address to download data.
Statistical Abstract of the US This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.

Economy at a Glance: Oregon
Data Series include: Labor Force Data, Non-farm Wage, Salary Employment, and Mass Layoffs.
From the Bureau of Labor Statistics.
OREGON.gov: Office of Economic Analysis
Forecast Information on Economic, Revenue, Corrections Population, and Youth Authority.
Oregon Economic Forum

Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA)
Includes economic account data on National, International, Regional, and Industry levels. Also includes the Consumer Expenditure Survey
Data.gov
The home of the U.S. Government’s open data
Find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.
FRED (Federal Reserve Economic Data)
A database of over 3000 U.S. economic time series. Download data in Microsoft Excel formats and view charts of data series. Full Text.
FRASER Economic Indicators (Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research)
This publication prepared by the Council of Economic Advisers supplies monthly updates related to the economic conditions in the U.S. Economic Indicators provides statistical data both in tabular and graphic form and includes information on consumer and producer prices, employment, production, and money and banking.
Typically 10 years of annual data with the most recent 12 to 15 months broken out in detail. 1948 to present.
Statistical Sites on the World Wide Web
Includes links to U.S. State & Federal Statistical Agencies, International Statistical Organizations, and National Statistical Agencies.
From the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics

State of the Cities Data Systems (SOCDS) from HUD
Data for Metropolitan Area, Cities and Suburbs: demographic and economic characteristics of population starting from 1970 Census; unemployment; jobs, business establishments and pay; violent and property crimes; local building permits; city government finance, housing affordability.
Cluster Mapping Project from Harvard Institute for Strategy and Competitiveness
The Cluster Mapping Project uses detailed county level data and statistical techniques to profile regional economies and their performance over time, with a special focus on clusters. Clusters are geographically concentrated groups of interconnected companies, universities, and related institutions that arise out of linkages or externalities across industries. Regions and clusters are analyzed at various geographic levels including states, economic areas, and metropolitan areas.

Data Sources from AEAWeb
Statistical resource directory from the American Economics Association
FreeLunch
Free economic, demographic and financial data from Moody's Economy.com. Check the source to track down the original source of data.
StateMaster.com
Access statistical information about the U.S. from multiple sources. Check defitions, source and date of data.Visualize with pie charts, maps, graphs. Created by Rapid Intelligence Co.