Research Guides: Western European History: Secondary Sources

Western European History
- Secondary Sources
- Primary Sources

Secondary Sources for Western European History

These databases, library catalogs, and websites will help you find a broad range of secondary sources on the history of Western Europe.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database providing indexing, abstracts, and selected full text for peer reviewed/scholarly articles, magazines, trade publications, and newspapers in all fields.
Cambridge Histories This link opens in a new window
Covers a range of subjects focusing on history, but also includes literature, political philosophy, religion, theatre, and music.
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index This link opens in a new window
Covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Index to scholarly articles covering world history (with the exception of the US and Canada) from 1450 to the present
International Medieval Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary index for medieval studies, covering 450 to 1500, primarily in Europe.
Indexes journals and festscriften published 1967 to the present. Search by author, title, publication name, year, language, subject terms, geographic areas, century, repository, and more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Online archive of peer reviewed/scholarly journals in all disciplines.
LibrarySearch This link opens in a new window
Covers items owned by the UO Libraries, Summit libraries, and articles and other scholarly research materials.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Language and subject dictionaries and reference works
RAMBI: the index of articles on Jewish studies This link opens in a new window
Selective bibliography of articles in the various fields of Jewish studies and in the study of Eretz Israel.
Regesta Imperii This link opens in a new window
Indexes European history from late antiquity to the Renaissance (16th century), includes archaeology, history, art, literature, music, philosophy, languages, theology, etc.
Viva: A Bibliography of Women's History in Historical and Women's Studies Journals This link opens in a new window
Bibliography of articles about women's and gender history.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
WorldCat provides access to library catalogs from around the world. The database contains millions of bibliographic records describing books, journals, maps, musical scores, recordings, videos, manuscripts, etc.

Need Help?

Japanese Studies and History Librarian

Kevin McDowell

Email Me

Contact:

541-346-8923

Subjects: Art, Art History and Architecture History, Arts and Administration, Asian Studies, Historic Preservation, History, Medieval Studies, Political Science, Southeast Asian Studies

Related Research Guides

Ancient History
by Kevin McDowell Last Updated Jan 16, 2025 91 views this year
Classics
by Jeff Staiger Last Updated Jan 16, 2025 83 views this year
Food Studies
by Miriam Rigby Last Updated Feb 4, 2025 300 views this year
History
by Kevin McDowell Last Updated Jan 16, 2025 235 views this year
Finding Images
by Nancy Cunningham Last Updated Feb 3, 2025 451 views this year
Global Studies
by Joel Liesenberg Last Updated Mar 6, 2025 356 views this year
Medieval Studies
by Kevin McDowell Last Updated Jan 16, 2025 305 views this year