Western European History

Database of archival collection descriptions, including historical documents, personal papers, and family histories around the world

If searches in this database retrieve incorrect results, clear cache/cookies to resolve the problem.
Primary source documents from major international activist organizations and local grassroots organizations providing information on social, political, health and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities. Includes often-excluded groups, even within the LGBTQ community, and enables users to draw new connections across the development of LGBTQ culture and activism.

If searches in this database retrieve incorrect results, clear cache/cookies to resolve the problem.
Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Burney Newspapers Collection Part II presents an invaluable resource for scholars across many disciplines. By incorporating the Burney Additional Newspapers, also preserved by the British Library, this digital archive expands upon the original with material from around 200 titles, including newspapers, newsbooks, and broadsheets from this transformative period. This newly digitized collection, sourced from high-quality images, complements the existing Burney Newspaper Collection by offering new titles and additional issues of already digitized titles.

Digitized facsimiles of all printed materials published in Great Britain between 1473 and 1700, and materials published elsewhere in the world in English during the same period. Includes searchable text from the Text Creation Project, Phase I.

If searches in this database retrieve incorrect results, clear cache/cookies to resolve the problem.
18th century English-language publications in the humanities, arts, and sciences.
Digitized copies of significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in Great Britain during the eighteenth century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. ECCO includes a variety of materials from books and directories, Bibles, sheet music, sermons, advertisements, and other works by both well-known and lesser-known men and women writers.

Spanning five centuries, and charting the rise and fall of empires around the world, Empire Online enables students and researchers to explore colonial history, politics, culture and society. With primary source material from American, French, Dutch, Spanish, Portuguese, German and British perspectives, Empire Online provides varying points-of-view for comparative research. Documents from Africa, India and North America are also featured.

Collection of statistical data from around the world, covering a wide range of socio-economic topics.

If searches in this database retrieve incorrect results, clear cache/cookies to resolve the problem.
U.S. and British legal treatises published between 1800-1926.

Eight Centuries is a database covering source material dating from 1106 until 1960, aggregating indexes, catalogs, collections, and other finding aids. It provides access to articles, newspapers, books, U.S. patents, government documents, and images, with links to full-text where available.