Skip to main content
University of Oregon
UO Libraries

Transgender Studies & Cisgender Privilege

A beginner's guide to researching transgender issues and cisgender privilege using resources in the UO Libraries and elsewhere

UO LibrarySearch - Find articles, books, and more

LibrarySearch offers a streamlined interface for finding books and other media that combines the collections of UO Libraries and Summit libraries.

Finding Articles about Cisgender Privilege in Journals & Databases

The following articles available through the UO Libraries address cisgender privilege through various disciplinary lenses.  Be sure to log in with your DuckID in order to view or download full-text electronic articles.

Garvey, Jason C. and Susan R. Rankin. “The Influence of Campus Experiences on the Level of Outness Among Trans-Spectrum and Queer-Spectrum Students.” Journal of Homosexuality 62:3 (2015): 373-393.

Henning, Carlos Eduardo. “Is Old Age Always Already Heterosexual (and Cisgender)? The LGBT Gerontology and the Formation of the ‘LGBT Elders.’” Vibrant: Virtual Brazilian Anthropology 13, no. 1 (2016): 132-154.

Johnson, Julia R. Cisgender Privilege, Intersectionality, and the Criminalization of CeCe McDonald: Why Intercultural Communication Needs Transgender Studies.” Journal of International and Intercultural Communication 6 (May 2013): 135-144.

Sumerau, J.E., Ryan T. Cragun, and Lain A.B. Mathers. Contemporary Religion and the Cisgendering of Reality.” Social Currents 3, no. 3 (2016): 293-311.

Westbrook, Laurel, and Aliya Saperstein. New Categories Are Not Enough: Rethinking the Measurement of Sex and Gender in Social Surveys. Gender & Society 29 (August 2015): 534-560.


Below are some of the journals and databases in the UO Libraries collection that can help you find articles about cisgender privilege and transgender studies.  Some of these provide full-text access to articles, while others provide only citation information and abstracts (summaries); you can use InterLibrary Loan (ILL) to request copies of articles that UO does not have. 

Journals:

Databases:

About Interlibrary Loan (ILL) Infographic

Thanks to IUPUI University Library for allowing reuse of this graphic under a Creative Commons license.

Infographic about Interlibrary Loan - Follow link for accessible text version


Text description of "Use Interlibrary Loan" for web accessibility

Before submitting an InterLibrary Loan request, an account must be made. This can be found on the UO Libraries website by clicking the "InterLibrary Loan" link and following the login prompts, or first time users can click here.

Once an account is made, books may be searched for and requested through LibrarySearch and WorldCat.

Please allow about 2 weeks for delivery of books and physical materials. An e-mail will be sent when print materials are ready for pick-up.

Most journal articles arrive in 24-48 hours and will be sent electronically.

 

More Help

University of Oregon Libraries
1501 Kincaid Street Eugene, OR
97403-1299
T: (541) 346-3053
F: (541) 346-3485
Make a Gift