Research Guides: Sports Business Law: Researching Business Topics

Sports Research Resources in the Library

Street & Smith's SportsBusiness journal This link opens in a new window
Sports Business Journal (SBJ) is a leading source for sports industry news, original reporting, and news aggregation. This subscription provides full access to SBJ's Daily, Weekly, and archival content, as well as their newsletters, podcasts, and videos.
Sports business research network; SBRnet This link opens in a new window
Provides market research data and industry news including sports equipment sales, sports participation, consumer expenditures, sponsorship, sports facilities, and more for both professional and amateur athletics
Athletic This link opens in a new window
The Athletic is a service of The New York Times providing national and local sports coverage in the US and UK at the college and professional level. The subscription the Athletics' long-form journalism, original reporting, analysis, podcasts, mobile apps, and email newsletters.
Learn how to set up your access through UO Libraries.
Update: For the 2024-2025 academic year, users who already have a subscription to The Athletic will need to reactivate their access by clicking on the updated URL.
IEG Sponsorship Report This link opens in a new window
IEG Sponsorship Report provides insights, online publications, and trend reports on sports, arts, and cause and entertainment marketing.
Sports & Fitness Industry Association (SFIA) This link opens in a new window
Access limited to current UO students, faculty and staff.
Tracks amateur athletic sports and fitness participation, product sales, amateur team sports, and overall industry activity.

Finding Business Information

Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Mergent Online is a company information database that enables researchers to retrieve key organizational and financial information about publicly-traded US and international companies. Information available includes: annual and quarterly financial results, leadership profiles, property holdings, key competitors, and segment results.
Mergent market atlas This link opens in a new window
Provides U.S. and international public company information based on name, location, industry, etc. Additional company search criteria allow you to explore sustainability, SEC filings, annual reports, independent research and company reports.
PitchBook This link opens in a new window
Pitchbook is a company and industry research tool focused on private company and emerging industry ecosystems. Using this tool, researchers are able to access private company profiles and valuations, M&A activity, PE & VC investment trends, and investor information.
Pitchbook is available to UO members (full and part-time students, faculty, and staff). To access this resource, you must have the UO VPN Client software running. Download and set up UO VPN here. Click "more" for additional registration & access information.
Note: Users are limited to 10 downloads per day and 25 downloads per month. (1 download = 1 row of data on an Excel file). Account access will automatically reset annually on June 30.
Contact Genifer Snipes, gsnipes@uoregon.edu, for more information.
Paid for in cooperation with the Lundquist Center for Entrepreneurship.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Industry research database covering thousands of established and emerging industries in the US, China, and global economies. Reports include market characteristics, segmentation, industry conditions, industry financial data, key success factors, and forecasting. Subscription includes US, China and Global Industry, US Company Benchmarking, Business Environment Profiles, US Specialized Industry, iExpert, and US Industry Spotlight modules.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
BSC searches a wide range of business-focused magazines, newspapers and academic journals, as well as country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database providing indexing, abstracts, and selected full text for peer reviewed/scholarly articles, magazines, trade publications, and newspapers in all fields.