Skip to main content
University of Oregon
UO Libraries

SPAN 218: Latino Heritage I

About Special Collections and University Archives

Welcome to Special Collections and University Archives (SCUA)!

We are the principal repository for the University of Oregon’s historical research collections in all formats including manuscripts, printed books, maps, photographs, and prints.  The archives of the University of Oregon, including historic administrative records and personal papers of many faculty members, comprise a substantial part of the collections.  Overall, the department’s holdings include more than 20 thousand linear feet of manuscript collections.  Located in the north wing of the Knight Library, the Department is open to scholars and researchers regardless of institutional affiliation. Each year we see thousands of researchers who come to consult our resources. 

The archivists and librarians welcome the opportunity to help you with your research.

Information about PCUN

Started in Woodburn in 1985 by WVIP leaders Cipriano Ferrel, Ramón Ramírez, and Larry Kleinman, the Pineros y Campesinos Unidos del Noroeste (Northwest Tree-Planters and Farmworkers United, PCUN) has pursued a multipronged approach to serving Oregon’s Latinx community from its inception. In addition to labor organizing, PCUN has been an engine for environmental and immigration reform, labor rights, farmworker housing, and bilingual education, and has been a strong ally to anti-racist, LGBT rights, and environmental movements in addition to other progressive causes. PCUN has been instrumental in founding organizations including the Farmworker Housing Development Corporation, CAUSA (Oregon’s largest Latinx civil rights organization), the Mujeres Luchadoras Progresistas (an organization for Latina rights), the CAPACES Leadership Institute (a youth organizing and leadership training institute), and the low-power FM radio station KPCN. Today PCUN is the largest Latinx organization in the state of Oregon.

PCUN Archival Materials: WVIP and immigration struggles, 1977-1985

PCUN poster text: "Con o sin documentos, Ud. tiene derechos"

Started in 1977 by veteran Chicano movement activists Cipriano Ferrel, Ramón Ramírez, Juan Mendoza, and Larry Kleinman, who among them collectively had experience including work with the UFW and the Colegio César Chávez, the Willamette Valley Immigration Project provided free legal aid to Latinx workers throughout the Willamette Valley, especially in the Woodburn area. Responding to mass deportations happening in farms, factories, and communities across the state, the WVIP provided aid to all facing immigration troubles regardless of their official immigration status and organized political action in support of comprehensive immigration reform. Responding to the need for action defending Latinx laborers beyond legal aid, the WVIP began looking to expand its horizons into labor, housing, and political action by the mid-1980s.

Learn more by visiting UO Libraries Special Collection & Archives and check out digitized primary materials:

Ask An Archivist | SCUA

Chat Email Phone TextVisit

Fall 2020 - SCUA Operations

Special Collections and University Archives is now offering individual research appointments for UO faculty, staff, and students only. Appointments must be made 1 week in advance via the library’s calendaring system.

We are continuing our digitization services, and expanded research assistance for all researchers.

Questions about reference, research, and digitization services should be sent to our reference email (spcarref@uoregon.edu).

PCUN Archival Materials: Pinero or Tree-Planter

Photograph of tree-planter (Pinero)

Tree planter somewhere on the coastal range, 1982, PCUN records, Special Collections & University Archives, University of Oregon Libraries.

Other Useful UO Guides

University of Oregon Libraries
1501 Kincaid Street Eugene, OR
97403-1299
T: (541) 346-3053
F: (541) 346-3485
Make a Gift