Skip to main content
University of Oregon
UO Libraries

SPAN 218: Latino Heritage I

Need Help?

Chat Email Phone Text

Google Scholar Search Widget

Google Scholar Search

UO LibrarySearch - Find articles, books, and more

LibrarySearch offers a streamlined interface for finding books and other media that combines the collections of UO Libraries and Summit libraries.

BrowZine Search

Search e-journals

Online and OA academic information in Spanish & Portuguese

open lock logo in dark greenThis box contains links to some of the most popular online and open-access (Open Access open lock logo or OA) resources from the Spanish-Speaking world. The links marked with the OA open lock symbol mean these indexes or databases give access to some or all full text of the articles. If there is something you can't find the full text for, please contact your librarian or use Interlibrary Loan (ILL) to request it.

When searching open web or internet resources, be sure to use Boolean-style searching (using AND, OR, and NOT) when appropriate. Google and Google Scholar have advanced search operators and field searching. Many of the databases listed here have advanced search screens and help menus to assist you.

Searching Databases (Video Tutorial)

Watch this video from Yavapai College Library to learn how to search library databases.

A-Z Database List

Databases A-Z logo from website

If you know which database you want, use the dropdown menu above to choose it. If you want to browse the databases by subject, click on the link on the left and use the filters to explore our subscription databases! 

Look at other Subject guides to see which databases the Subject Librarians recommend for that discipline/major.

Recommended Databases for the Course

Library databases (sometimes called indexes) are like search engines but search scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, and other sources.

Many library databases provide the full text of articles. Look for a full-text link next to your article, or use the   icon in the database to connect to the complete article.

General Multidisciplinary Database - Great Places to Start!

Linguistics Databases

Language & Literature Databases

Education

History & Culture

Finding the Full Text of an Article in a Database

Follow the steps shown in these screenshots to locate or request the full text of an article from a database like Academic Search Premier (EBSCO).

You can use the limiter on the left sidebar to narrow to results that only include access to the full text, or just look for the results that include a PDF or HTML option.

A screen shot of a search in Academic Search Premier for "Pacific Northwest" AND conservative*

This screen shot shows various options for getting the full text of this article through the UO Libraries' subscription to Academic Search Premier. If your article doesn't have a PDF or HTML full text, click the FindText button FindText button to get to this screen: 

Screenshot of the Get It link when full text is available in a database

When the full text is not available as a PDF (or HTML format) in a database, you still have options to get it at no cost to you (up to the limit of $30 for students/staff and $60 for faculty per document. See About Borrowing for more). Click the Find Text button below the search result you want, and then look for the Check availability link.

Screenshot of Check Availability link in database with options for Interlibrary Loan or Document Delivery.

Choose Interlibrary Loan for physical items (books, DVDs) to get them in 1-3 weeks from another library outside of Summit or for electronic items (PDFs of journal or magazine articles) to get them in 24-48 hours at no cost to you. Document Delivery is for requesting an electronic copy of an article or book chapter that the University of Oregon Libraries has in physical format.

Questions? Contact the Resource Sharing office at 541-346-3055 or ill@uoregon.edu.

University of Oregon Libraries
1501 Kincaid Street Eugene, OR
97403-1299
T: (541) 346-3053
F: (541) 346-3485
Make a Gift