Research Guides: Romantic Music: Bibliographies & Research Guides

UO LibrarySearch - Find articles, books, and more

LibrarySearch offers a streamlined interface for finding books and other media that combines the collections of UO Libraries and Summit libraries.

Bibliographies & Research Guides for Romantic Music Research Topics

The following publications can help you find other articles, books, and additional resources for your research related to Romantic music.

Analyses of Nineteenth- And Twentieth-Century Music, 1940-2000 by David J. Hoek; Arthur Wenk (Contributed by)
Call Number: ML118 .H695 2007 and MUSIC REF ML118 .H695 2007
Publication Date: 2007
A Bibliography of Nineteenth-Century American Piano Music by John Gillespie; Anna Gillespie
Call Number: MUSIC REF ML128.P3 G54 1984
Publication Date: 1984

Browse the books with ML134 call numbers in the Music Reference Collection to find research guides about specific composers. This call number area also contains thematic catalogs for specific composers, which can provide useful information about the sources and publication history for all known works by that composer. The titles below represent examples of these types of books, but there are many more in the library than are listed here.

The New Hess Catalog of Beethoven's Works by James F. Green
Call Number: MUSIC REF ML134.B4 G74 2003
Publication Date: 2003
Revised edition of: Verzeichnis der nicht in der Gesamtausgabe veröffentlichte Werke Ludwig van Beethovens / Willy Hess. 1957. Errata slip inserted. Includes bibliographical references (page 23) and index.
Hector Berlioz: A Guide to Research by Jeffrey Langford; Jane Graves
Call Number: MUSIC REF ML134.B5 L3 1989
Publication Date: 1989
Johannes Brahms: A Guide to His Autograph in Facsimile by Peter Dedel
Call Number: MUSIC REF ML134.B8 D4
Publication Date: 1978
Gustav and Alma Mahler: A Guide to Research by Susan M. Filler
Call Number: MUSIC REF ML134.M34 F54 1989
Publication Date: 1989
Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy: A Guide to Research by John M. Cooper
Call Number: MUSIC REF ML134.M53 C6 2001
Publication Date: 2001
The Cambridge Companion to Wagner by Thomas S. Grey (Editor)
Call Number: ML410.W13 C35 2008
Publication Date: 2008

Music and Dance Librarian

Ann Shaffer

She/Her/Hers

Email Me

Contact:

Pronouns: she/her/hers

I currently work on campus on Wednesdays and Thursdays, and work remotely on Mondays, Tuesdays, and Fridays. I am available for in-person research consultations on Wednesdays and Thursdays, and for virtual consultations (via Zoom, Teams, or phone) on any weekday.

541-346-1850

Subjects: Dance, Music