Public Administration

* Links preceded by an asterisk (*) represent archives and depositories where you may be able to deposit your own research data.

Anthropology

Anthrokids - Anthropometric data of children The results of two 1970s studies which collected anthropometric data of children. Linked pdfs of reports give methodology.

Army Anthropometric Survey (ANSUR) - Published by the U.S. Army in 1988 and now being updated, ANSUR is an influential database known for its methodology and comprehensive collection of measurements.

Gridded Population of the World (GPW), v3 - Two gridded global population maps produced using different methods at different spatial resolutions. You can download the datasets in various formats.

Human Genome Resources at NCBI - "A web-browser for checking for signals of selection in the human genome based on SNP data collected by Li et al (2008) in the 53 populations that constitute the Human Genome Diversity Panel.”

• see also the Rosenberg lab data sets

Archaeology

*Archaeology Data Service (UK) A very nicely organized, searchable archive. Concentrates on, but is not limited to, the British Isles.

CDLI - Cuneiform Digital Library Initiative A specialist database of cuneiform texts. The CDLI data set will consist of text and image, combining document transliterations, text glossaries and digitized originals and photo archives of early cuneiform. You can download transliterations.

*tDAR - the Digital Archaeological Record An international digital archive and repository that houses data about archaeological investigations, research, resources, and scholarship. "Users can search tDAR for digital documents, data sets, images, GIS files, and other data resources from archaeological projects spanning the globe.  For data sets, users also can use data integration tools in tDAR to simplify and illuminate comparative research."

US Census data

data.census.gov - data.census.gov is the new platform to access demographic and economic data from the U.S. Census Bureau. It contains the most recent 10 years of American Community Survey data, 2010 Decennial Census data and Economic Census data since 2012. American FactFinder is no longer available.

• Tables downloadable in .csv format

American Community Survey (ACS) Summary Files - Includes the ACS 2005-2009 first ever block-group data, only available on the Summary File, and 295 Detailed Tables not available in American FactFinder. Data are available in zip files. See the technical documentation pdf for more information.

• Summary Files documentation and tools

American Community Survey (ACS) PUMS data - PUMS = Public Use Microdata Sample

American Community Survey (ACS) - Archived Data via ftp

Census FTP site - pre-2000 Census data is available here

IPUMS CPS - The Current Population Survey is a powerful source of data for investigating social and economic trends in the U.S. over the past half century. The CPS is a monthly U.S. household survey conducted jointly by the U.S. Census Bureau and the Bureau of Labor Statistics that gathers information on education, labor force status, demographics, and other aspects of the U.S. population. IPUMS-CPS is microdata--it provides information about individual persons and households. You can perform online analysis of these data using the Berkeley SDA system.

IPUMS USA Integrated Public Use Microdata Series - Census microdata for social and economic research

Missouri Census Data Center This state data center provides an astonishing number of tools and apps for using U.S. Census data

NHGIS - National Historical Geographic Information System "Provides, free of charge, aggregate census data and GIS-compatible boundary files for the United States between 1790 and 2010." To download data, you will need to register. 

Oregon Census State Data Center at PSU; includes some pre-packaged downloadable datasets for Oregon.

Other Census, Demographic, and Vital Statistics Databases

Bridged-Race Population Estimates: Data and Documentation "Race bridging refers to making data collected using one set of race categories consistent with data collected using a different set of race categories, to permit estimation and comparison of race-specific population-based statistics at a point in time or over time." Data from intercensal and postcensal population estimates in zipped files with text and SAS formats, from the CDC National Vital Statistics System.

Migration Data Downloads from the IRS Statistics of Income Division. State-to-state and county-to-county migration data, 2005-present. Excel files.

Oregon Communities Reporter Tool from Oregon Explorer; over 200 indicators for Oregon and Northern California communities by city, county, and census tract, from 1990 to present.

Vital Statistics Online Data Portal from the CDC

Oregon Demographic Forecast from the Oregon Office of Economic Analysis. Long-range county forecasts are available as xls downloads.

* Links preceded by an asterisk (*) represent archives and repositories where you may be able to deposit your own research data.

* ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research) ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in all of the social sciences, including specialized collections in education. Studies are comprised of documentation, data (may include versions ready formatted for SPSS or Stata), and program code. You will need to register from a UO IP address to download data.

⇒This page lists mainly environmental data sources. Click here for many more repositories of data in Biology, Chemistry, Geology, and Physics.

*Links preceded by an asterisk (*) represent archives and repositories where you may be able to deposit your own research data.

Climate

Ecology & Biology

Energy

General Environmental & Earth Science

* Links preceded by an asterisk (*) represent archives and repositories where you may be able to deposit your own geospatial data.

UO Libraries GIS Data Page In addition to many useful links, the UO Libraries provides access to local and Oregon GIS data. Some of this is available only to UO users.

* Links preceded by an asterisk (*) represent archives and repositories where you may be able to deposit your own research data.

Government Data

Legal / Court Data

United States

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, AHRQ, offers many data sources. Two of the largest and most used are:

The Centers for Disease Control (CDC) is a major source of health statistics and data, with over 400 public use data files. Some data are restricted, requiring approval.

Other Federal Agencies & Sources

Canada

International

See also:

Resources on this page include data on: human rights, development, foreign aid, and more. See also Politics, and War, Conflict & Terrorism tabs.

* Links preceded by an asterisk (*) represent archives and repositories where you may be able to deposit your own research data.

Elections and Voting Data - U.S.

• More information on the spreadsheets can be found here.

Elections and Voting Data - International

Other Political Data

See also: ICPSR

• ICPSR contains many election and public opinion studies in its data archives. Archived data is downloadable in a variety of formats, including SAS, SPSS, Stata, ASCII--but not all formats for all files. UO is a member institution, therefore UO users have access to all data files. Just create an ICPSR MyData account.

* Links preceded by an asterisk (*) indicate where you can deposit your own research data.

* Contributing data to NDCAN

See also the links under the Social Science General/Interdisciplinary tab

Other Social Science Data Archives & Databases:

The archives listed below are repositories were you also may be able to deposit your own research data: