Research Guides: PPPM 410L: Inclusive Urbanism: Maps and Images

Maps and Images

The UO's large collection of maps, aerial photography is located in the Document Center, on the first floor of the Knight Library. This is also the location for datasets for use in geographic information systems (GIS) applications.

Map Collection
Information about the Map Collection from UO Libraries.
Aerial Photography
Information about the Aerial Photography collection from UO Libraries.

Fire insurance maps online (FIMo) This link opens in a new window
The world’s largest online digital collection of color fire insurance maps, real estate atlases, and similar land use maps for North America. Geographic coverage includes Oregon and Washington, and publishers include Sanborn, Nirenstein's National Realty Map Co., Baist, Kroll, and more.
Digital Sanborn maps 1867-1970 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Large-scale, detailed, black & white maps of 177 Oregon towns and cities, as well as municipalities in California, Washington, and Idaho
Originally created for fire insurance purposes, Sanborn maps have become a valuable tool for studying the history, growth, and development of cities, towns, and neighborhoods. Users can pan and zoom as well as download PDF versions of each sheet. The MAP Library also has paper versions of many of these maps.

Images may be used to investigate specific sites, examine existing generic planning and design elements, or to illustrate presentations and publications.

Building Oregon This link opens in a new window
Digital collection developed and maintained by the the UO Libraries, provides access to over 20,000 images and documents about the built environment of the Pacific Northwest with emphasis on Oregon.

Other guides

For more assistance:

Finding Maps and Atlases in UO Libraries

PPPM 410L: Inclusive Urbanism

Need Help?

Associate Librarian

Maps and Images

Other guides