Research Guides: PPPM 410L: Inclusive Urbanism: State Documents and Archives

State Documents and Archives

Historic Oregon Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Historic Oregon Newspapers provides digitized versions of selected Oregon newspapers published between 1846 and 2017. Approximately 200 newspapers are included in this collection. Dates of coverage vary from newspaper to newspaper.

Oregon Historical Society
The Oregon Historical Society (OHS) is a private museum, archival library, and educational institution headquartered in downtown Portland.
Local and Regional Document Archive
Collection maintained by UO Scholars' Bank. Use filters to narrow results to Eugene- or department-specific documents.
Special Districts Assocation of Oregon
Special Districts are a form of local government created to meet specific service needs, such as airports, water supply, libraries, mass transit, parks and recreation, and more. SDAO provides access to a document library with administrative documents, such as policies, reports, forms, bylaws, etc.
Oregon State Archives
The website of the Oregon State Archives, including information on tracking down both print and digital archival materials from the Oregon state government.

LibrarySearch

You can also strategically browse the UO Libraries' catalog (LibrarySearch) by conducting an Advanced Search. Set the search filters to "Subject" and "Exact phrase," and conduct a search for your town (e.g. "Eugene, Or."). This should narrow your results to only documents about the particular town. Add additional keyword searches, such as neighborhood names or significant figures, to further refine your scope.

This is just one strategy to find local periodicals, such as community newsletters: