Research Guides: Planning: Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of the City by Roger W. Caves (Editor)
Call Number: ONLINE

ISBN: 0415252253

Publication Date: 2005

The Encyclopedia of the City focuses on the key topics encountered by undergraduates and scholars in urban studies and allied fields. Contributors include major theoreticians and practitioners, and on other individuals, groups, and organizations which study the city or practice in a field that directly or indirectly affects the city, the Encyclopedia necessarily adopts an interdisciplinary and multidisciplinary perspective.
Encyclopedic Dictionary of Landscape and Urban Planning by Klaus-Jürgen Evert (Editor); Klaus-Jürgen Evert (Editor)
Call Number: ONLINE

ISBN: 9783540764359

Publication Date: 2010

This unique, multilingual, encyclopedic dictionary in two volumes covers terms regularly used in landscape and urban planning, as well as environmental protection.
The American Vitruvius by Werner Hegemann; Elbert Peets; Christiane Crasemann Collins (Introduction by)
Call Number: NA9030 .H4 2010 (Design Library)

ISBN: 9780486473154

Publication Date: 2010

First published in 1922, this classic encyclopedia contains more than 1,200 plans, elevations, and perspective views. Its European and American buildings range from Renaissance structures to those of the 20th century.
The Language of Towns and Cities by Dhiru A. Thadani; Leon Krier (Foreword by); Andres Duany (Introduction by)
Call Number: NA9010.5 .T45 2010 (Design Library Reference)

ISBN: 9780847834860

Publication Date: 2010

The Language of Towns & Cities is a landmark publication that clarifies the language by which we talk about urban planning and design. Everyday words such as "avenue," "boulevard," "park," and "district," as well as less commonly used words and terms such as "sustainability," "carbon-neutral," or "Bilbao Effect" are used with a great variety of meanings, causing confusion among citizens, city officials, and other decision-makers when trying to design viable neighborhoods, towns, and cities.

Bibliographies and Guides

Bibliographies

Use these sources to identify writings or organizations relevant to particular planning topics and issues:

CPL Bibliographies. [Z5942.C69]
This ongoing series by the Council of Planning Librarians has been indexed in:
Comprehensive Index...1958-1978 DOCUMENTS REFERENCE [Z5942.C65]
Annotated Bibliography and Index...1979-1989 [Z5942.C69 no. 253]
Annotated Bibliography and Index...1990-1995 DOCUMENTS REFERENCE [Z7164.R33D74 1995].
Since 1996 the bibliographies have been published in the Journal of Planning Literature (below).
Information Sources in Urban and Regional Planning: a Directory and Guide to Reference Materials; DOCUMENTS REFERENCE [Z5942.D87 1994]
Edward E. Duensing. This contains a useful listing of planning-related organizations, professional societies and trade associations.

An Annotated Bibliography and Index Covering CPL Bibliographies 254-328, 1990-1995 by Linda S. Drake
Call Number: Z7164.R33 D74 1995 (Knight Library Documents)

ISBN: 9780866023283

Publication Date: 1995