Research Guides: Planning: Books

Search for books

Search for Books

LibrarySearch This link opens in a new window
Covers items owned by the UO Libraries, Summit libraries, and articles and other scholarly research materials.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
WorldCat provides access to library catalogs from around the world. The database contains millions of bibliographic records describing books, journals, maps, musical scores, recordings, videos, manuscripts, etc.

Searching for Books Online

Online Resources

These are additional places to search for books online. Some may have electronic versions readily available, and some may require you to submit Interlibrary Loan requests to have print copies delivered to a UO Library.

The Internet Archive
A non-profit digital library offering free universal access to films, images, archived websites, and more.
Google Books
Useful for locating information within books because of its full-text searching ability but it is limited in content (not all books are in Google Books!). The books can then be obtained in the library.

HathiTrust digital library This link opens in a new window
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world. Current UO students, faculty and staff should log into HathiTrust as the "University of Oregon". Additional functions, such as the ability to download the whole book are available only to users of member libraries. Using HathiTrust.

Borrowing from other libraries (Summit and ILL)

Borrowing from Other Libraries

You have the option to borrow material outside of the University of Oregon through two services: Summit and Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

Summit

Summit is usually the fastest way to get it from another library. This allows you to borrow material from participating institutions in the Orbis Cascade Alliance.

When you conduct a search in LibrarySearch and log in with your DuckID, you will see the option to "Place Summit Request" for available material. Simply click that link and choose your preferred delivery location. When the book arrives, you will be notified via email to pick it up on campus.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

If an item is not available at UO or through Summit, use Interlibrary Loan (ILL). This allows you to borrow material from institutions across the country and, in some rare cases, abroad.

To manually submit an ILL request, log in to LibrarySearch and navigate to the ILL Form.

Follow the steps at the link below to place your request.

Interlibrary Loan Request form in Library Search