Research Guides: ANTH 427M/527M, J 427M/527M: Oregon's Latino Roots: Reference Sources for Oregon History

UO LibrarySearch - Find articles, books, and more

LibrarySearch offers a streamlined interface for finding books and other media that combines the collections of UO Libraries and Summit libraries.

Reference Books

Encyclopedia of the American West by Zenda, Inc. Staff; Charles Phillips (Editor); Alan Axelrod (Editor)
Call Number: F591 .E485 1996
Publication Date: 1996
Through a combination of biographies, histories of the western states, and overview entries on complex topics, the four-volume encyclopedia examines more than stereotypes of cowboys and Indians, opening the door to the diversity of the western experience, from the 18th through the early 20th centuries. Over 1700 alphabetically-arranged entries, 2000 pages, and more than 100 photographs fully define in one source the concerns of the traditional West within the broader framework of social history.
Oregon Blue Book by Oregon. Office of the Secretary of State.
Call Number: JK9031
Useful quick reference guide to Oregon people, institutions, and history. The most recent edition is available online at https://sos.oregon.gov/blue-book/Pages/default.aspx
The Encyclopedia of Oregon
Call Number: Knight Library Reference F876 .E5 1999
Publication Date: 1999
A single-volume guide to the history, geography, and government of Oregon. Contains a biographical dictionary of the state governors, a dictionary of places, a guide to historic places, the state constitution, and a quick survey of the geography and history of the state.

Oregon Encyclopedia
A free online encyclopedia of Oregon covering all fields, including history. It is produced and maintained by the Oregon Historical Society.

Dictionary of Oregon History by Howard McKinley Corning
Call Number: Knight Reference F874 .D53 1989
Publication Date: 1989
A great resource for finding out about the people, places, and events that have shaped Oregon's history. Particularly noteworthy is that many entries have citations to books or articles for further reading.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States by Suzanne Oboler (ed.); Deena J. González (ed.)
Publication Date: 2005
With an unprecedented scope and cutting-edge scholarship, the Encyclopedia draws together the diverse historical and contemporary experiences in the United States of Latinos and Latinas from Mexico, Puerto Rico, Cuba, the Dominican Republic, Central America, South America, Europe, Asia, and the Middle East.

Using Wikipedia for Research (Infographic)

(Click to Enlarge Image)

Long description of "Using Wikipedia for Research" for web accessibility

In addition to being a great place to start exploring an unfamiliar topic, Wikipedia is considered a tertiary source. Writers of tertiary sources synthesize information from secondary sources and strive to report them in a tone that is as unbiased and neutral as possible.

Some tertiary sources are cited in academic research and others are not. This practice varies by discipline so contact your instructor or a librarian with questions!

Thanks to IUPUI University Library for allowing reuse of this graphic under a Creative Commons license.

Need Help?

Knight Library Reference Collection

Reference Collections

Reference works contain background information on a variety of topics related to the major fields of study at the University of Oregon and beyond. Use this information to check facts, look for ideas, and to get an overview of a topic or field. The items in this collection cannot be checked out, they are kept in the building so that all may use them.

Knight Library

Knight Library has a Reference Collection on Level 1 near the Research Help Desk.

Follow this link to see the location of "Knight - Reference" on the UO Campus Interactive Map

This sculpture is located in the Reference Collection in Knight Library.

Branch Locations

Many of our branch libraries also have reference materials at their locations.

UO Libraries Hours and Locations