Research Guides: Native American and Indigenous Studies: News Sources

Current News Sources

This box contains two lists. The first is of current news sources that are focused on Native American and Indigenous Studies and are openly available on the web for anyone to access. The second list is of news databases that the UO subscribes to, that cover the United States and/or North America.

Native American and Indigenous Studies focused news sources:

High Country News
"Through in-depth reporting, High Country News covers the West’s social, political and ecological issues. From Alaska and the Northern Rockies to the desert Southwest, the Great Plains to the West Coast, High Country News covers 12 Western states and hundreds of Indigenous communities."
Indian Country Today
"Digital. Indigenous. News."
Indianz.com
"Native American news, information and entertainment. Wholly-owned and operated by Ho-Chunk Inc., the economic development corporation of the Winnebago Tribe."
National Native News
"News For All Americans"
Native America Calling
"Your National Electronic Talking Circle"
First Nations Drum Newspaper
"Canada's Largest First Nations Newspaper"

UO Libraries-Subscribed news databases for current news:

Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Articles, editorials, and reviews published in approximately 200 ethnic and minority newspapers, magazines and journals published in the U.S, dating back to the mid-1990s.
Searchable in both English and Spanish.
Access world news This link opens in a new window
Access World News Research Collection is a full-text news resource consisting over 11,000+ local, regional, national and international sources (6,800+ US and almost 4,200 international sources). This database includes access to many local Oregon new sources, including The Oregonian and the Register-Guard up to current day. Updated daily, it offers researchers and students valuable primary source information on today’s issues and events from newspapers, newswires, transcripts, video clips, web only, and blogs.
Los Angeles Times (2008 to present) This link opens in a new window
Digitized version of the Los Angeles Times newspaper, microfilm edition.
New content is added to the database after the newspapers are microfilmed, so currency usually runs 6-12 weeks behind. This site works only in Internet Explorer or Chrome on Windows computers and Firefox or Safari on Macs.
New York times This link opens in a new window
Learn how to set up your access through UO Libraries’ subscription. UO’s New York Times online subscription provides current UO faculty, students, and staff access to domestic and international news, educational videos, podcasts, blogs, interactive multimedia, and much more. Unlimited access provided for content newer than 1980 and older than 1923. (Access to content within the date range 1923-1980 is limited to 5 articles per day. NYT Archive page offers alternatives).
OCLC #34107580

altered display of research guide link in the description, per request. mcg03102023

Historical News Sources

Historic Oregon Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Historic Oregon Newspapers provides digitized versions of selected Oregon newspapers published between 1846 and 2017. Approximately 200 newspapers are included in this collection. Dates of coverage vary from newspaper to newspaper.

Thanks to collaborations with the Confederated Tribes of Grand Ronde and funding from UO Libraries donors, a few titles documenting Native American news, views, and history are now available for searching and browsing on Historic Oregon Newspapers online:

The Chemawa American
published by students of the Chemawa Indian Boarding School just north of Salem, issues dating from 1901-1915. (Related to Weekly Chemawa American)
Weekly Chemawa American
published by students of the Chemawa Indian Boarding School just north of Salem, issues dating from 1901-1915. (Related to The Chemawa American)
Klamath Tribune (1956-1961)
Smoke Signals (1978-2013 digitized)
The current newspaper of the Confederated Tribes of Grand Ronde, digitized issues dating from 1978-2013.

Additional Historical News Sources focused on North America:

African American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
This enormous collection of African American newspapers contains a wealth of information about cultural life and history during the 1800s and is rich with first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day, including the Mexican War, Presidential and Congressional addresses, Congressional abstracts, business and commodity markets, the humanities, world travel and religion. The collection also provides a great number of early biographies, vital statistics, essays and editorials, poetry and prose, and advertisements all of which embody the African-American experience.
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals This link opens in a new window
EBSCO partners with American Antiquarian Society (AAS), the premier library documenting the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction, to provide digital access to the most comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912.
American Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and historically significant periodicals, covering 1740-1900.
American Prison Newspapers, 1800-2020: Voices from the Inside This link opens in a new window
On March 24, 1800, Forlorn Hope became the first newspaper published within a prison by an incarcerated person. In the intervening 200 years, over 450 prison newspapers have been published from U.S. prisons. Some, like the Angolite and the San Quentin News, are still being published today. American Prison Newspapers will bring together hundreds of these periodicals from across the country into one collection that will represent penal institutions of all kinds, with special attention paid to women's-only institutions. Development of the collection began in July 2020 and will continue through 2021, with new content added regularly.
Caribbean newspapers, 1718-1876 This link opens in a new window
Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876—the largest online collection of 18th- and 19th-century newspapers published in this region—will provide a comprehensive primary resource for studying the development of Western society and international relations within this important group of islands. This unique resource will prove essential for researching colonial history, the Atlantic slave trade, international commerce, New World slavery and U.S. relations with the region as far back as the early 18th century.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Articles, editorials, and reviews published in approximately 200 ethnic and minority newspapers, magazines and journals published in the U.S, dating back to the mid-1990s.
Searchable in both English and Spanish.
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 This link opens in a new window
Newspapers published between 1808 and 1980 that chronicle the daily life, cultural heritage and world views of Hispanic communities in the U.S.
Features Spanish-language newspapers and titles published bilingually in Spanish and English.
Independent and revolutionary Mexican newspapers This link opens in a new window
The Independent and Revolutionary Mexican Newspapers collection traces the evolution of Mexico during this pivotal period. Comprising over 1,000 titles from Mexico’s pre-independence, independence and revolutionary periods (1807-1929), the newspapers in this collection provide rare documentation of the dramatic events of this era and include coverage of Mexican partisan politics, yellow press, political and social satire, as well as local, regional, national and international news. Part of the Global Press Archive.
Independent Voices This link opens in a new window
Independent Voices is a digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
Latin American Newspapers, Series 1 This link opens in a new window
Collection of historical Latin American newspapers.Includes newspapers published between 1805 and 1922 in Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Guyana, Mexico, Peru, Trinidad and Venezuela.
Latin American Newspapers. Series 2 This link opens in a new window
Additional coverage of newspapers from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba and Mexico. Includes countries not represented in Latin American Newspapers I, such as Bolivia, El Salvador, Nicaragua, Costa Rica and Belize.

Related Organizations

Native American Journalists Association
The Native American Journalists Association exists to empower the Indigenous voice through journalism with programs and actions designed to enrich journalism and promote the accurate portrayal of Indigenous people and cultures.