Research Guides: Native American and Indigenous Studies: Audio &amp; Visual Materials

Streaming Video Collections

Academic video online This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online includes a variety of video material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, news programs and newsreels, demonstrations, and raw footage. Patrons will find thousands of award-winning films, including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners. Academic institutions will find the most frequently used films for classroom instruction, plus newly released films and previously unavailable archival material.
Docuseek2 (Streaming Videos) This link opens in a new window
Educational streaming access to content from Bullfrog Films, Collective Eye Films, Icarus Films (including The Fanlight Collection and dGenerate Films), Kartemquin Films, Scorpion TV,Sincerely Films, Terra Nova Films and Villon Films.
UO users may preview and license content online.
Ethnographic Video Online (Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window
Collection of classic and contemporary ethnographic documentaries.
Comprehensive resource for the study of human culture and behavior, covering every region of the world and features the work of many of the most influential documentary filmmakers of the 20th century, including interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, study guides, and more.
EVIA Digital Archive (Ethnographic Video for Instruction and Analysis) This link opens in a new window
Unedited ethnographic field video representing a wide variety of geographic areas; religious, ethnic, and cultural groups; music and dance traditions; music performances, rehearsals, and other music events; and ethnographic interviews.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Offers streaming access to a large variety of documentary and feature films. Major subject areas include the arts, business and training, media and communication, natural sciences and social sciences. Kanopy is limited to UO students, faculty, and staff. A DuckID is required for access both on and off campus.
PBS video collection This link opens in a new window
Documentary films and series covering history, science and technology, diversity studies, business, and current events
Swank Digital Campus This link opens in a new window
Swank Digital Campus provides streaming video access to feature films and documentaries.

For additional help finding films, check out these research guides:

Finding Videos & Films
by Jeff Staiger Last Updated Jan 16, 2025 1900 views this year

Digital Image Collections

ARTstor This link opens in a new window
Search over one million digital images in the fields of the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences.
As of August 1, 2024 the former Artstor website is now completely incorporated into JSTOR. All content is now located there.
Oregon Digital This link opens in a new window
Oregon Digital provides discovery of and access to unique digitized and born-digital materials, including photographs, articles, sheet music, manuscripts, ephemera, and more. Materials in the broad collection are contributed from the University of Oregon and Oregon State University.

Additional Digital Collections at the UO
Provides links to our many digital collections at the UO Libraries & Special Collections.

Streaming Audio Collections

Ethnographic Sound Archives Online This link opens in a new window
Ethnographic Sound Archives Online brings together over 2,000 hours of previously unpublished historic field recordings from around the world, alongside their supporting field notes and ethnographers’ metadata, opening new paths for the study of music in its cultural context.
Ethnomusicology: global field recordings This link opens in a new window
This resource contains materials from cultural studies of music from across the globe. Produced in collaboration with the UCLA Ethnomusicology Archive and the Ethnomusicology Archive at the University of Washington, the material in this collection includes thousands of audio field recordings and interviews, educational recordings, film footage, field notebooks, slides, correspondence and ephemera from over 60 fields of study.
Music Online: American Music This link opens in a new window
Database of songs and audio tracks, includes music that relates to almost every walk of American life, ethnic groups, political campaigns, Civil rights and more.
Music online: Contemporary world music This link opens in a new window
Streaming audio of music genres from every continent. Includes reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more
Music online: Smithsonian global sound for libraries This link opens in a new window
Sound recordings offering music, speeches, and drama from more than 160 countries around the world.
Archives included in this database include the Aga Khan Trust for Culture- an archive of Islamic music and culture; the Archives and Research Center for Ethnomusicology-an Indian-based resource; the International Library of African Music- touted as the greatest depository of African music in the world; and recordings from the Smithsonian Center for Folklife and Cultural Heritage and the Smithsonian Folkways Archive, including the complete recordings published by the Folkways label. Research into history, geography, literature, cultural diversity, and other subject areas can be expanded with the addition of the music and sounds represented in this collection.