Research Guides: Latin American Studies: OA and Online Sources

Digital Collections of Modern Latin American Political Ephemera

Political ephemera includes posters, flyers, pamphlets, and other disposable materials produced by governments, NGOs, and social movements. Several organizations have made special efforts to preserve these materials, notably the Princeton University Library and the Library of Congress's Overseas Office in Rio de Janeiro. These materials provide unique insight into contemporary social, political, and cultural life in Latin America.

Princeton's Latin American Ephemera Collection: Ephemera Collection Home
An overview of Latin American political ephemera from one of the largest and longest-running collections in the world.
Digital Archive of Latin American and Caribbean Ephemera
Portal to the digitized portions of the Princeton University Library's Latin American political ephemera collection.
Brazil's Popular Groups
The digital index of materials from the Library of Congress's long-running (since 1966) "Brazil's Popular Groups" project, which microfilmed ephemera until 2016 but has switched to digitization in collaboration with Princeton's Latin American Ephemera project.
Latin American Political Campaign Ephemera Collection
A digital collection of Latin American political campaign ephemera from the University of California-San Diego
Center for the Study of Political Graphics
An organization dedicated to political graphics from around the world, includes digitized images of posters and flyers.

Digital Collections of Mesoamerican Materials

These free online databases provide access to digitized images of Mesoamerican codices (folded books) from the pre-Colombian and early colonial era.

The Maya Hieroglyphic Codices
Searchable translations and analysis of four codices (screenfold books) painted by Maya scribes before the Spanish conquest in the early 16th century.
Ancient Books - All Rare Collections of Codices
A portal to explore digitized copies of Mesoamerican codices uploaded to the Internet Archive.
Códices de México
Online exposition on Mesoamerican codices from the Mexican government's Instituto Nacional de Antropología e Historia (INAH).
FAMSI Research Materials
A list of online digital collections of digitized Mesoamerican codices maintained by the Foundation for the Advancement of Mesoamerican Studies, Inc. (FAMSI).
Mesolore
Mesolore is a bilingual resource for scholars and students of Mesoamerica. Includes several digitized Mesoamerican Codices.
Pictografía y lenguas indígenas - Biblioteca Digital Mexicana
Digitized indigenous-language documents, including colonial and pre-Colombian archival documents and codices, from the Biblioteca Digital Mexicana.
Smoking Mirror - Mesoamerican Resources
Digital resources on pre-Colombian Central Mexican and Mayan history.
Mesoamerican Codices: A Facsimile Exhibit
This web exhibit provides a brief representation of the University of Arizona's collection of facsimile editions of several manuscript paintings produced by the indigenous peoples of Mexico with some bibliographic and historical information. The goal was not a complete assessment of early Mexican manuscript painting, nor do we strive to represent any of the artifacts in their entirety. Rather, the exhibition serves as an introduction to these Mesoamerican codices

Latin American Studies

Need Help?

Global Studies Librarian

Digital Collections of Modern Latin American Political Ephemera

Digital Collections of Mesoamerican Materials